NBA awards finalists: LeBron snubbed for MVP, Draymond, Kawhi headline DPOY

Next month, after the conclusion of the NBA Finals, the league will host its first-ever awards show, during which they'll announce the winners of the major awards: MVP, Defensive Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, Most Improved Player and Coach of the Year. 

On Friday evening, before Game 2 of the Eastern Conference finals, we learned the finalists for these awards. The MVP Award was obviously the most notable of the bunch, as LeBron James was left off the final list. 

Here is the full list of finalists:

NBA MVP: LeBron James snubbed, Harden, Westbrook, Kawhi named finalists

ROY: Joel Embiid, Dario Saric, Malcolm Brogdon

Draymond, Kawhi, Rudy Gobert named finalists for Defensive Player of the Year

6MOY: Eric Gordon, Lou Williams, Andre Iguodala

MIP: Rudy Gobert, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Nikola Jokic

COY: Gregg Popovich, Mike D'Antoni, Erik Spoelstra

Teams with multiple players up for awards: Philadelphia 76ers (ROY) and Houston Rockets (6MOY)

Other teams represented: Houston Rockets, Oklahoma City Thunder, San Antonio Spurs, Milwaukee Bucks, Utah Jazz, Golden State Warriors, Denver Nuggets

Players up for multiple awards: Kawhi Leonard (MVP, DPOY) and Rudy Gobert (DPOY, MIP)

NBA Writer

Jack Maloney lives and writes in Milwaukee, where, like the Bucks, he is trying to own the future. Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories