CBS Sports 2014 booth pairings: Ian Eagle, Dan Fouts named No. 2 team

Ian Eagle [left] and Dan Fouts will make-up the No. 2 announcing team at CBS. (CBS)
Ian Eagle [left] and Dan Fouts will make-up the No. 2 announcing team at CBS. (CBS)

When the NFL seasons kicks off in September, it will mark the 55th year that CBS has broadcasted the league. When the network broadcasts its first regular season game on Sept. 7, you'll see some familiar faces and some new faces. 

Here are the official announcer pairings for the 2014 season.

(Play-by-play/analyst/sideline reporter)

Jim Nantz/Phil Simms//Tracy Wolfson

Ian Eagle/Dan Fouts

Greg Gumbel/Trent Green

Kevin Harlan/Rich Gannon

Spero Dedes/Solomon Wilcots 

Andrew Catalon/Steve Beuerlein/Steve Tasker

Wolfson and Tasker won't be the only sideline reporters in 2014. CBS will also be utilizing network newcomers Jenny Dell and Evan Washburn. Wolfson is moving over to the NFL full-time after spending the past 10 seasons as the lead sideline reporter for the SEC on CBS. 

Nantz and Simms will be on the call for 14 Thursday night games this year as part of the NFL's new deal with CBS. Eight of those 14 games will air on CBS and simulcast on NFL Network. The other six games will be shown on NFL Network only, but Nantz and Simms will still be on the call. 

Nantz and Simms will still be on the call for many Sunday games, but they won't be pulling Thursday/Sunday double-duty every week this fall. When Nantz and Simms have a week off, the No. 1 CBS game will go to the new No. 2 pairing of Fouts and Eagle. 

Fouts and Eagle have been working together as a tandem at CBS since 2010. 

Newcomer Trent Green, who was hired by CBS in April, will be paired with long-time network play-by-play man Greg Gumbel. Gumbel had been paired with Dan Dierdorf since 2006, however, Dierford retired from CBS following the 2013 season setting the stage for Gumbel's new partnership with Green. 

Game coverage also will include play-by-play announcers Brian Anderson and Tom McCarthy, as well as analysts Adam Archuleta and Chris Simms.

James Brown once again will anchor The NFL Today from New York. Brown will be joined by veteran analysts Boomer Esiason, Bill Cowher, along with newcomers Tony Gonzalez and Bart Scott. Jason La Canfora will continue to serve as the network's NFL Insider.

CBS Sports Writer

John Breech has been at CBS Sports since July 2011 and currently spends most of his time writing about the NFL. He's believed to be one of only three people in the world who thinks that Andy Dalton will... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories
    CBS Sports Shop