JJ Watt, Drew Brees highlight Day 1 of first-ever Pro Bowl Draft

The first-ever Pro Bowl draft will determine the rosters for Sunday's game. (USATSI)
The first-ever Pro Bowl draft will determine the rosters for Sunday's game. (USATSI)
For the first time ever, the Pro Bowl will feature "unconferenced" teams with players selected not based on their AFC or NFC affiliation but via a draft. And like just about everything associated with the NFL, it's now a televised event. There's more: Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders are serving as captains, which means that they will have final say over who ends up on the appropriately named Team Rice and Team Sanders.

On Tuesday, Rice and Sanders drafted defensive tackles, offensive guards, offensive centers, fullbacks, special teamers and punters. The other positions will be filled on Wednesday night's three-hour (really?) extravaganza.

The team captains were selected earlier Tuesday. For Team Rice its Drew Brees and Robert Quinn. And for Team Sanders its J.J. Watt and Jamaal Charles.

All right, let's get to this:

Team Rice
(Coach: Ron Rivera, Panthers)

QB Drew Brees, Saints (team captain)
DE Robert Quinn, Rams (team captain)
DT Jason Hatcher, Cowboys (11 sacks)
DT Marcell Dareus, Bills (7.5 sacks)
DT Kyle Williams, Bills (10.5 sacks, 3-time Pro Bowler)
G Jahri Evans, Saints (5-time Pro Bowler) 
G Ben Grubbs, Saints (2-time Pro Bowler)
G Evan Mathis, Eagles (allowed just 1.5 sacks)
C Ryan Kalil, Panthers (4-time Pro Bowler)
C Nick Mangold, Jets (0 penalties this season)
FB Mike Tolbert, Panthers (7 TDs)
ST Justin Bethel, Cardinals (blocked two field goals in 2013)
P Johnny Hekker, Rams (46.3-yard avg.)
LS Matt Overton, Colts (1st Pro Bowl)

Team Sanders
(Coach: Chuck Pagano, Colts)

DE J.J. Watt, Texans (team captain)
RB Jamaal Charles, Chiefs (team captain)
DT Ndamukong Suh, Lions (5.5 sacks, 10.5 hurries)
DT Gerald McCoy, Buccaneers (9 sacks, 2-time Pro Bowler)
DT Dontari Poe, Chiefs (4.5 sacks, 51 tackles)
G Marshal Yanda, Ravens (3-time Pro Bowler)
G Logan Mankins, Patriots (6-time Pro Bowler)
G Kyle Long, Bears (1st Pro Bowl)
C Mike Pouncey, Dolphins (1st Pro Bowl)
C Alex Mack, Browns (2-time Pro Bowler)
FB Marcel Reece, Raiders (2-time Pro Bowler)
ST Matthew Slater, Patriots (3-time Pro Bowler)
P Brandon Fields, Dolphins (48.8-yard avg.)
LS J.J. Jansen, Panthers (1st Pro Bowl)

We'll have the rest of the selections to Team Rice and Team Sanders Wednesday night.

CBS Sports Writer

Ryan Wilson has been an NFL writer for CBS Sports since June 2011, and he's covered five Super Bowls in that time. Ryan previously worked at AOL's FanHouse from start to finish, and Football Outsiders... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories
    CBS Sports Shop