J.J. Watt is first-ever unanimous NFL Defensive Player of the Year

PHOENIX -- Texans defensive end J.J. Watt was named the 2014 Defensive Player of the Year on Saturday night at the 4th annual NFL Honors award show.

Watt was a unanimous choice, the first person to ever sweep the vote for this particular defensive award. Tom Brady was also a unanimous selection at one point, albeit for the MVP in 2007. 

Watt finished the season with 20.5 sacks, an interception (which he returned 80 yards for a touchdown), five fumble recoveries (and a recovered fumble for a touchdown), a safety and 78 total tackles.

Oh yeah, he also caught three passes for four yards and three touchdowns. Watt was a freak and a beast on the defensive side of things week in and week out and was the only guy who deserved to win the award. 

CBS Sports Senior Writer

Will Brinson joined CBS Sports in 2010 and enters his seventh season covering the NFL for CBS. He previously wrote for FanHouse along with myriad other Internet sites. A North Carolina native who lives... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories