Matt Ryan wins Bert Bell Professional Player of the Year Award

Atlanta Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan has won the Bert Bell Professional Player of the Year award, according to a release from the Maxwell Football Club. The honor was announced by MFC President and former NFL QB Ron Jaworski.

Here is the MFC's rundown of his award:

Ryan's 2015 season was spectacular as he led the Falcons to an 11-5 regular season record and an NFC South Championship. Ryan, the most statistically dominant quarterback on the league's best offense, lead the NFL in passing yards per attempt (9.26), yards per completion (13.3), and touchdown pass percentage (6.8 percent), and his 115.5 passer rating would rank fifth in NFL history. He passed for 4,944 yards and 38 touchdowns while throwing only 7 interceptions this season. During his career with the Falcons Ryan has passed for 37,701 yards and 240 touchdowns. He is the first Atlanta Falcons player to win the Bert Bell Award.

Ryan and the Falcons are back on the field on Sunday when they take on the Green Bay Packers with a trip to the Super Bowl on the line. The game from the Georgia Dome in Atlanta kicks off at 3:05 p.m. ET and will be broadcast via FOX.

Our Latest Stories