NFLPA elects new president Eric Winston

Eric Winston was elected as the new NFLPA president. (USATSI)
Eric Winston was elected as the new NFLPA president. (USATSI)

With the tenure of NFLPA president Domonique Foxworth coming to an end, three finalists -- free agent tackle Eric Winston, free agent safety Ryan Clark and Saints tight end Ben Watson -- emerged to try to replace him.

Credit Clark with breaking the news of the winner.

Winston ranks No. 125 on the free agent list, and he was elected Wednesday at a meeting that featured all 32 of the team's player representatives.

Winston's election was met with plenty of praise from the NFL media on Twitter and he received congratulatory messages from Clark and Watson. Winston, who spent last season with the Cardinals, also proved in 2012 that he wasn't afraid to face the fans' wrath in order to make a point. When Chiefs fans cheered when then-quarterback Matt Cassel had to leave the game with a concussion, Winston unloaded on the fans after the game.

"Boo him all you want; boo me all you want," Winston said then. "Throw me under the bus. Tell me I'm doing a bad job. Say I got to protect him more. But if you're one of those people that were out there cheering or even smiled when he got knocked out, I just want to let you know and I want everybody to know that I think it's sickening and disgusting."

Foxworth was ineligible to run again since he's no longer an active player. 

Our Latest Stories