Saints QB Drew Brees wins 2016 NFL passing title

No one in the NFL threw for more yards during the 2016 season than New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees.

Want to keep up with all things Saints? Don't miss any breaking news, take a second to sign up for our FREE Saints newsletter!

Brees won the NFL's passing title for the 2016 season with a total of 5,208 passing yards, edging out Atlanta's Matt Ryan (4,944) and Washington's Kirk Cousins (4,917).

For Brees, the total represented an NFL-record fifth time he exceeded 5,000 passing yards in a single season. The rest of the NFL combined only has four other 5,000 passing-yard seasons all-time. Peyton Manning, Tom Brady, Dan Marino and Matthew Stafford each reached the mark in a season once. No other player in NFL history has ever done it twice.

Winning the passing title is old hat for Brees, who has led the NFL in passing yards six times previously throughout his illustrious career (2006, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 - all with the Saints).

Our Latest Stories