Boston Bruins beat Sabres, clinch Presidents' Trophy

David Krejci (right) celebrates his goal in Boston's win over Buffalo. (USATSI)
David Krejci (right) celebrates his goal in Boston's win over Buffalo. (USATSI)

More NHL: Scores | Standings | League Leaders | Odds | Injuries | Power Rankings

The Boston Bruins are the NHL's regular-season champions, clinching the Presidents' Trophy with a 4-1 win over the Buffalo Sabres on Saturday at TD Garden. The club is now at 117 points with one game remaining in the regular season.

This is the Bruins' first regular-season title since 1989-90. The team was led by head coach Mike Milbury and made it all the way to the Stanley Cup Final, where they fell to the Edmonton Oilers. Cam Neely, now the team's president, was the 1989-90 Bruins' leading scorer with 92 points including 55 goals.

This year's Bruins are still awaiting their first-round opponent in the Stanley Cup playoffs, as the Eastern Conference wild-card race remains undecided. If the season ended Saturday, Boston would take on the Detroit Red Wings, but the Columbus Blue Jackets and Philadelphia Flyers also remain options as first-round foes.

The Bruins lead the league with 54 wins, 51 of which came in regulation or overtime, which is also a league high. They never lost more than two consecutive games in regulation all season, either. It was a rather strong showing from the gentlemen in the spoked B this year.

The Presidents' Trophy winners have won the Stanley Cup only twice in the past decade, most recently by the Chicago Blackhawks last year and previously by the 2007-08 Detroit Red Wings. That said, not a lot of teams probably want to see the Bruins in the postseason this year.

CBS Sports Writer

Chris Peters has been a hockey writer for CBS Sports since 2012. Prior to that, he wrote for numerous outlets and edited the United States of Hockey blog, covering the sport at all levels. Peters also... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories