NHL explains Devils disallowed goal

NEWARK -- It appeared as if the New Jersey Devils were able to take a 2-1 lead in the third period on Wednesday night, only to have the NHL instantly disallow the goal as the puck crossed the line.

Here's a look at the play, which resulted in Zach Parise using his hand to push the puck over the goal line.



The NHL released the following explanation shortly after...

At 3:58 of the third period in Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Final, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that New Jersey's Zach Parise directed the puck into the Los Angeles net with his glove. No goal New Jersey. According to NHL Rule 67.6, "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck and it is deflected into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official. When the puck enters the net on a clear deflection off a glove, the goal shall be allowed."
For more hockey news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnHockey and @agretz on Twitter and like us on Facebook.
CBS Sports Writer

Adam Gretz has been writing about the NHL and taking an analytical approach to the game since the start of the 2008 season. A member of the PHWA since 2015, he has spent more than three years covering... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories