NHL explains Devils disallowed goal
The NHL explains why a potential Devils goal was disallowed in the third period of Game 1 on Wednesday night.
NEWARK -- It appeared as if the New Jersey Devils were able to take a 2-1 lead in the third period on Wednesday night, only to have the NHL instantly disallow the goal as the puck crossed the line.
Here's a look at the play, which resulted in Zach Parise using his hand to push the puck over the goal line.
The NHL released the following explanation shortly after...
At 3:58 of the third period in Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Final, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that New Jersey's Zach Parise directed the puck into the Los Angeles net with his glove. No goal New Jersey. According to NHL Rule 67.6, "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck and it is deflected into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official. When the puck enters the net on a clear deflection off a glove, the goal shall be allowed."For more hockey news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnHockey and @agretz on Twitter and like us on Facebook.
Buffalo's 20-year-old phenom pulls off the highlight of the night against Vancouver
The North American love affair with Edmonton's superhuman center continues to grow
The defending Western Conference champion Predators are also heating up early in the year
The Oilers' young star remains seriously unfair
David Kelly, a Toronto-born hockey analyst, has strong advice for Edmonton vs. Chicago game...
Gary Bettman says otherwise, for the time being, but Houston could be primed for a team