Watch Now: Time to Schein: Gary Bettman announces a solid return-to-play plan for the NHL (3:57)

This year's NHL awards are a bit different, since the 2019-20 regular season was paused because of the coronavirus pandemic and the league will jump right into the playoffs when it resumes. NHL commissioner Gary Bettman announced the league's plan to return, which does not involve finishing out the regular season, meaning on Thursday, the league was able to announce the winners of some its regular season awards.

While sports this year are unlike anything we've seen, there is one thing hockey fans can count on, Washington Capitals captain Alex Ovechkin taking home the Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy. This marks his ninth time he has led the NHL in goals, extending his own league record -- Hall of Famer Bobby Hull is second with seven league-leading seasons.

This year Ovi shares the honor, which goes to the regular season's top goal scorer, with the Boston Bruins' David Pastrnak. Both players ended the shortened season with 48 goals.

Bruins goaltenders Tuukka Rask and Jaroslav Halak earned the William M. Jennings Trophy for allowing the fewest goals. Between the two, they allowed just 167 goals through 60 games, a league-best at 2.39 goals per game.

Boston took home another award, this one as a team. The Bruins were awarded the Presidents' Trophy for leading the league with 100 points.

The Art Ross Trophy went to the Edmonton Oilers' Leon Draisaitl, who led the league with 110 points. 

Oilers general manager Ken Holland had high praise for Draisaitl following the player's first time being awarded the trophy. 

"It's a credit to his commitment, his passion, the hard work he's put in, the determination over the last three, four, five seasons," Holland said. "He's the player that has the most points in the league and he's a 24-year-old player. He continues to take steps forward in his career. A tremendous accomplishment."

The award ceremony has been postponed because of the pandemic and it has not yet been rescheduled.