VIDEO: Avs' Nick Holden kicks puck into net, goal stands
Nick Holden scored a weird goal for the Colorado Avalanche when he kicked a puck into the net. Normally those don't count, but this one did (and it was the right call, too).
Avalanche defenseman Nick Holden kicked a loose puck into the net. Distinct kicking motion and everything, but it counted. The goal gave Colorado a 3-0 lead over the Blues in a game that is important for playoff positioning for both clubs.
So why did it count? It turns out the last thing the puck hit on its way into the net was Blues forward Steve Ott’s stick. As subtle as Ott’s touch may have been, the rule clearly states that the goal shall stand if the kicked puck goes off any player, excluding the goal keeper’s stick.
So it’s inarguably the right call there and one of the few times you will ever see a goal scored with a “distinct kicking motion” count.
The video review also led to this delightful exchange between an Avalanche fan and a St. Louis Blues supporter dressed as a referee. (h/t @myregularface for the GIF).
The former Boston Bruin was the first black player to play in the NHL
Inclement weather led to the Charlotte Checkers and Bridgeport Sound Tigers playing in front...
The NHL chose the Detroit rocker as its All-Star Game entertainment and not everyone is th...
NHL fans from all over seem to agree on one thing: Hating Kid Rock
The team tweeted on Monday that Shaw would be re-evaluated in 7-10 days
The Montreal forward was hospitalized after taking a Zdeno Chara slap shot to the head