You make the call: Was Ryan Callahan's second period goal kicked in?
Ryan Callahan's second period goal had to be reviewed to make sure it wasn't kicked in. The NHL said it hit off his leg, not his skate. Do you agree?
The New York Rangers had a slow start on Wednesday night against the New Jersey Devils, falling into a 3-0 hole just 10 minutes into the first period. To their credit, the Rangers did their best to dig themselves out of it, getting a late goal from Brandon Prust (of all people) and then coming out early in the second and getting one from their captain, Ryan Callahan.
It's the second goal that resulted in some discussion as to whether or not it should have counted. And why it counted.
The play had to be reviewed to make sure it wasn't directed in by a distinct kicking motion. In the end, it was determined to be a good goal, and the NHL explained that the puck actually went in off of Callahan's leg, not his skate.
From the NHL:
At 0:32 of the second period in the Rangers/Devils game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Artem Anisimov's cross-ice pass deflected off Ryan Callahan's leg and into the Devils' net. According to rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal New York.Here's the play, complete with multiple replay angles.
Did they get it right?
For more hockey news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnHockey and @agretz on Twitter and like us on Facebook.
NHL players are still disappointed they won't be going to skate in PyeongChang
With Artemi Panarin in the mix and a Vezina winner headlining the defense, Columbus can be...
The league's crackdown on faceoff infractions and slashing penalties isn't without some cr...
Joffrey Lupul spent last season on long-term IR but seems to be saying he's healthy
Early playoff trouble has been evident, but the Wild tout an offense capable of making another...
Why walk with skate guards when you can rollerskate instead?