South America's wild World Cup qualifying final day: Scenarios for Messi's Argentina, Chile, Colombia and others

Tuesday will be D-Day in CONMEBOL. South America's World Cup qualifying concludes, as four teams book a spot for Russia 2018 and one team finishes fifth, then having to take on New Zealand in a two-match playoff. 

Lionel Messi and Argentina could very well finish the day on the outside looking in, with the 2014 World Cup finalists in jeopardy of missing out on next summer's World Cup. 

Only one spot is booked (Brazil), and three direct spots are still up for grabs. Here's everything to know to get you ready for what is sure to be one of the most entertaining nights of soccer you will ever see.


  1. Brazil*, 38 points (+27)
  2. Uruguay, 28 points (+10)
  3. Chile, 26 points (+2)
  4. Colombia, 26 points (+2)
  5. Peru, 25 points (+1)
  6. Argentina, 25 points (+1)
  7. Paraguay, 24 points (-5)
  8. Ecuador, 20 points (-1)
  9. Bolivia, 14 points (-20)
  10. Venezuela, 9 points (-17)

Note: Ecuador, Bolivia and Venezuela are eliminated. 


Matchday 18

7:30 p.m. ET kickoffs

Brazil vs. Chile (beIN Sports Connect)
Ecuador vs. Argentina (beIN Sports in Spanish)
Paraguay vs. Venezuela (beIN Sports Connect)
Peru vs. Colombia (beIN Sports Connect)
Uruguay vs. Bolivia (beIN Sports Connect)

Want to watch? All the games are available on fuboTV.


Uruguay - The only way Uruguay gets relegated to a playoff spot is if it loses at home to Bolivia, Colombia beats Peru, Chile wins in Brazil and Argentina wins in Ecuador - which combined with Uruguay's result, makes up a 10-goal differential.

Argentina - Qualifies with a win as long as Chile doesn't beat Brazil, Colombia and Peru draw or Peru beats Colombia by a less margin than Argentina 

Chile - Qualifies with a win. It can also qualify with a draw if Colombia and Peru draw or Argentina fails to win in Ecuador

Colombia - Qualifies with a win at Peru, but will also qualify if Chile loses to Brazil or Argentina fails to beat Ecuador

Peru - Qualifies if it beats Colombia, as long unless Chile beats Brazil and Argentina beats Ecuador by a greater margin. Peru can also qualify with a draw if Chile loses by multiple goals, or if Chile loses by a goal and scores less than Peru. It can also qualify with a draw if Argentina fails to be Ecuador and Paraguay fails to beat Venezuela.

Paraguay - Win and have Chile lose to Brazil and Argentina fails to beat Ecuador. 

For news, stories, results and more, follow us:

- @CBSSportsSoccer - @RGonzalezCBS - Facebook

CBS Sports Writer

Roger Gonzalez is an award-winning writer based in Virginia that has covered pro soccer from Europe's top clubs to Argentina's first division. Roger started out his pro soccer writing career with Full Bio

Our Latest Stories