World Cup 2018: Qualification finishes as Peru and Australia get in on final day

32 teams have officially qualified for the 2018 World Cup in Russia after Australia and Peru got in via the intercontinental playoff on Wednesday, and now the field is completely set. Australia beat Honduras 3-1 in the second leg after a scoreless first leg to win their playoff, while Peru beat New Zealand 2-0 in the second leg after no goals in the opener to return to the World Cup for the first time since 1982. 

Here are all the qualified teams and the big names who missed out.

Qualified teams

  • Russia (host)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL)
  • Iran (AFC)
  • Japan (AFC)
  • Mexico (CONCACAF)
  • Belgium (UEFA)
  • South Korea (AFC)
  • Saudi Arabia (AFC)
  • Germany (UEFA)
  • England (UEFA)
  • Spain (UEFA)
  • Nigeria (CAF)
  • Costa Rica (CONCACAF)
  • Poland (UEFA)
  • Egypt (CAF)
  • Serbia (UEFA
  • Iceland (UEFA)
  • France (UEFA)
  • Portugal (UEFA)
  • Uruguay (CONMEBOL)
  • Argentina (CONMEBOL)
  • Colombia (CONMEBOL)
  • Panama (CONCACAF)
  • Morocco (CAF)
  • Senegal (CAF)
  • Tunisia (CAF)
  • Switzerland (UEFA)
  • Croatia (UEFA)
  • Sweden (UEFA)
  • Denmark (UEFA)
  • Australia (AFC)
  • Peru (CONMEBOL)

Big names missing out

Here are some of the notable countries who failed to qualify:

  • United States
  • Ghana
  • Chile
  • Ecuador 
  • Netherlands
  • Czech Republic
  • Turkey
  • Italy 

The 2018 World Cup begins on June 14 in Russia. 

For news, stories, results and more, follow us:

- @CBSSportsSoccer - @RGonzalezCBS - Facebook

CBS Sports Writer

Roger Gonzalez is an award-winning writer based in Virginia that has covered pro soccer from Europe's top clubs to Argentina's first division. Roger started out his pro soccer writing career with Full Bio

Our Latest Stories