Getty Images

The Europa League round of 16 tie between RB Leipzig and Spartak Moscow, scheduled for March 10 and March 17, will no longer take place after all Russian clubs and national teams were booted from all competitions by UEFA. The decision came as a result of Russia's invasion of Ukraine. As a result, Leipzig are through to the quarterfinals as Spartak Moscow will not be replaced in the competition. 

This news comes a day after FIFA announced new measures concerning the Russia national team, banning all international competition set to take place in the country. UEFA released the following statement:

Following the initial decisions adopted by the FIFA Council and the UEFA Executive Committee, which envisaged the adoption of additional measures, FIFA and UEFA have today decided together that all Russian teams, whether national representative teams or club teams, shall be suspended from participation in both FIFA and UEFA competitions until further notice.

These decisions were adopted today by the Bureau of the FIFA Council and the Executive Committee of UEFA, respectively the highest decision-making bodies of both institutions on such urgent matters.

Football is fully united here and in full solidarity with all the people affected in Ukraine. Both Presidents hope that the situation in Ukraine will improve significantly and rapidly so that football can again be a vector for unity and peace amongst people.

Spartak were the last remaining Russia club in UEFA club competition this season, with no other teams in the country still in contention in the Champions League, Europa League or UEFA Conference League. You can stream all UEFA club competitions on Paramount+.

CBS Sports will update as more information becomes available.