Should Ron Vlaar's PK have counted for the Netherlands vs. Argentina?
The Dutch defender's penalty kick came very close to crossing the goal line entirely.
Hey there Ron Vlaar, all of the Netherlands. I'm here to pour salt in your wound.
It appears that your penalty kick, Mr. Vlaar, came agonizingly close to sneaking across the goal line Wednesday against Argentina. Your team, as you know, would eventually lose 4-2 in PKs.
Let's revisit the situation in its entirety.
Argentina and the Netherlands played to a 0-0 tie after 120 minutes. Penalty kicks would decide the outcome. Vlaar was first up for the Dutch, the tone-setter, the goal that would set Holland on the right path. You know, get the mojo rolling, momentum, all that.
But Sergio Romero came up with the save -- or did he? Here are some alternate angles of the play, see if you can tell if the ball entirely crossed the goal line.
That's obviously really, really close. The rule, of course, is that the entire ball must cross the line. Also, it's possible Vlaar touched the ball after it was blocked, which would have killed the play. That is also very close and difficult to distinguish definitively.
So there's the evidence. Make your own determination, goal truthers.
The city of Samara's stadium, set to be used for the 2018 World Cup, has seen its construction...
Norway beat World Cup debutants Thailand 4-0 before a historic rout by Germany over Ivory Coast...
He'll be suspended for Friday's game against Iowa.
The World Cup was 'amazing,' but Seattle Sounders teammates Clint Dempsey and DeAndre Yedlin...
A painting in Brazil depicts the Dutchman's amazing goal against Spain.
German midfielder Cristoph Kramer has become the face of the ongoing concussion crisis after...