Should Ron Vlaar's PK have counted for the Netherlands vs. Argentina?

ron vlaar netherlands world cup
Ron Vlaar’s PK may have crept over the goal line. (Getty Images)

More World Cup: Latest news & notes | Scoreboard | Complete schedule

Hey there Ron Vlaar, all of the Netherlands. I'm here to pour salt in your wound.

It appears that your penalty kick, Mr. Vlaar, came agonizingly close to sneaking across the goal line Wednesday against Argentina. Your team, as you know, would eventually lose 4-2 in PKs.

Let's revisit the situation in its entirety.

Argentina and the Netherlands played to a 0-0 tie after 120 minutes. Penalty kicks would decide the outcome. Vlaar was first up for the Dutch, the tone-setter, the goal that would set Holland on the right path. You know, get the mojo rolling, momentum, all that.

But Sergio Romero came up with the save -- or did he? Here are some alternate angles of the play, see if you can tell if the ball entirely crossed the goal line.

That's obviously really, really close. The rule, of course, is that the entire ball must cross the line. Also, it's possible Vlaar touched the ball after it was blocked, which would have killed the play. That is also very close and difficult to distinguish definitively.

So there's the evidence. Make your own determination, goal truthers.

(h/t Slate // Guardian)

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories