Minnesota vs La Salle

    Minnesota 70, La Salle 61


    PHILADELPHIA (AP) - Rodney Williams tied his career high with 21 points, Austin Hollins had 16 and Minnesota beat La Salle 70-61 Wednesday night in the opening round of the NIT.

    Andre Hollins added 13 points for the Golden Gophers (20-14), who play Miami in the second round after the Hurricanes beat Valparaiso 66-50.

    "I am impressed," Smith said of his young team. "All year long, we've been in every game. Overall, we've been right there. Now, we're starting to make some of these steps."

    The Gophers closed with a 15-6 run to give coach Tubby Smith his 100th win at the school. Only seven coaches in the program's history have won at least 100 games.

    "I really didn't realize it," Smith said of the milestone. "You're so involved in the game."

    Earl Pettis scored 19 points for La Salle (21-13), while Ramon Galloway added 13 and Jerrell Wright 12.

    It was the first postseason game for the Explorers since they qualified for the NCAA tournament in 1992. La Salle's 21 wins are the most for the program since a 30-2 finish in 1990.

    "I love my kids," coach John Giannini said. "They did a lot of good things this year. We just had some bad performances and it was the wrong time to do it."

    This was the 14th appearance for Minnesota in the NIT, including championships in 1993 and `98 - but the `98 title has since been vacated.

    Copyright 2016 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.
    CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
    Conversation powered by Livefyre

    Related Video

    September 30, 2016
    Jalen Rose and Fab Five feel disrespected (1:42)
    September 30, 2016
    State of College Basketball Recruiting: AAC
    September 29, 2016
    The Curious Case of Cullen Neal
    September 27, 2016
    CBS Sports Preseason Top 25 (and one)

    CBSSports Shop

    Men's Nike White Villanova Wildcats 2016 NCAA Men's Basketball National Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

    Villanova Wildcats 2016 National Champs
    Get the Locker Room Gear!
    Shop Now

    Minnesota Golden Gophers
    R. Williams, F409-173-360121
    E. Eliason, C140-01-22331
    A. Hollins, G367-112-323116
    J. Coleman, G322-33-46327
    A. Hollins, G225-82-351413
    J. Welch254-80-03208
    O. Osenieks211-42-36224
    M. Ahanmisi50-20-00000
    C. Armelin30-00-00000
    A. Ingram20-10-00110
    Totals 28-5413-1832151470
    La Salle Explorers
    J. Wright, F265-102-673112
    R. Galloway, G384-94-453113
    S. Mills, G383-50-02428
    E. Pettis, G378-172-232319
    T. Duren, G263-70-00446
    D. Peterson251-10-01023
    D. White60-20-11000
    S. Zack40-00-01010
    Totals 24-518-1323161461
    Big Ten
    TeamConf. W-LTot. W-LRPI Rank
    Michigan St.13-529-612
    Ohio St.11-721-1474
    Penn St.7-1116-16119

    Atlantic 10
    TeamConf. W-LTot. W-LRPI Rank
    St. Bona.14-422-930
    Saint Joes13-528-821
    Geo. Wash.11-728-1068
    Rhode Island9-917-15120
    George Mason5-1311-21202
    Saint Louis5-1311-21206
    La Salle4-149-22233
    Other games
    WKY 59 Final
    MS Val St 58
    IONA 72 Final
    BYU 78