Idaho at New Mexico State

New Mexico St powers past Idaho 24-16


LAS CRUCES, N.M. (AP) Andrew McDonald threw for two TD's as New Mexico State avoided the FBS-Independent cellar by beating Idaho 24-16 on Saturday.

Idaho and New Mexico State-both trying to avoid the cellar position of FBS Independent schools-held nothing back in the first half trading passing TDs and field goals and Idaho (1-11) led 13-10 going in to the break.

McDonald tossed a 7-yard TD to Austin Franklin and Adam Shapiro ran for another Aggie TD in the fourth quarter giving New Mexico State (2-10) an advantage Idaho could not overcome. In fact, the Vandals scored only three points in the second half. Idaho launched a final drive with two minutes left that ended with three incomplete passes from inside the New Mexico red zone.

Idaho outgained the Aggies 459 to 371 yards, but New Mexico State had only one penalty while Idaho gathered eight for 95 yards.

Copyright 2017 by STATS LLC. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.
CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

Related Video

Scoring Summary
NMEXSTAustin Franklin 28 yd pass from Andrew McDonald (Maxwell Johnson kick)
IDAHOMichael LaGrone 56 yd pass from Taylor Davis (Austin Rehkow kick)
IDAHOAustin Rehkow 25 yd FG
IDAHOAustin Rehkow 27 yd FG
NMEXSTMaxwell Johnson 36 yd FG
NMEXSTAustin Franklin 7 yd pass from Andrew McDonald (Maxwell Johnson kick)
IDAHOAustin Rehkow 25 yd FG
NMEXSTAdam Shapiro 8 yd run (Maxwell Johnson kick)
Team Stats
First Downs2023
Third Down Efficiency4-187-15
Fourth Down Efficiency3-50-0
Plays-Net Yards79-45971-371
Passing Yds250190
Kick Return Yds6027
Punt Return Yds36
Time of Poss.29:4630:14
Individual Stats
IDAHO: James Baker 8-48, Austin Rehkow 1-40, Jerrel Brown 7-36, Joshua McCain 3-26, Taylor Davis 11-24, Richard Montgomery 3-21, Kristoffer Olugbode 2-11, Dezmon Epps 1-3, Austin DeCoud 1-0
NMEXST: Germi Morrison 17-111, Xavier Hall 9-41, Andrew McDonald 15-19, Adam Shapiro 1-8, Austin Franklin 1-2
IDAHO: Taylor Davis 21-41-250-1, Joshua McCain 0-1-0-0
NMEXST: Andrew McDonald 17-27-186-1, Austin Franklin 1-1-4-0
IDAHO: Najee Lovett 8-82, Dezmon Epps 6-43, Justin Podrabsky 3-47, Michael LaGrone 1-56, Deon Watson 1-12, Jacob Sannon 1-10, Richard Montgomery 1-0
NMEXST: Austin Franklin 6-64, Adam Shapiro 4-62, Joseph Matthews 3-38, Jerrel Brown 2-13, Jordan Bergstrom 2-6, Andrew Dean 1-7
Idaho3rd Sun Belt 6-29-4
New Mexico State8th Sun Belt 2-63-9

CBSSports Shop