Crazy two-stroke penalty swings golf tournament in Asia

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Expert Picks | Equipment | FedEx Cup

Well I certainly didn't think I'd ever be writing about the Kolon Korea Open for this blog and I certainly didn't think I'd ever be writing about anyone besides Rory McIlroy in regards to the Kolon Korea Open.

McIlroy played the tournament last weekend and finished second, but that wasn't the story. 

Third-round leader Kim Hyung-tae is the story.

He stood just two holes from victory on Sunday but was alerted of a disastrous situation on the 17th tee.

This One Asia article has the story:

"[Kim] was approached by a rules official who informed him and playing partner Hong Soon-sang that they had both grounded a club in an area deemed to be a hazard on the 13th, and what they thought were fours were actually sixes."

A six on this hole would mean Kim would lose by one instead of winning by one. He marched back to the 13th hole after his round and had a two hour (!) discussion with officials before eventually ceding to their wishes.

If you flip to 5:10 on the video above you can see the movement in question. It sure looks to me like he grounded his club but that grass is also pretty tall so who knows.

Kim's friend Kang Sung-hoon won the tournament instead. 

"I'm a really good friend of his so at the moment it doesn't feel great. Even though I won the tournament, I just feel really sorry for him. I was actually out there to celebrate for him, but … I don't know … I don't know what to say. It's horrible."

h/t Devil Ball Golf

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

CBS Sports Writer

Kyle Porter began his sports writing career with CBS Sports in 2012. He covers golf, writes poetry about Rory McIlroy's swing, stays ready on Tiger watch and loves the Masters more than anyone you know.... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
CBS Sports Shop
2016 PGA Championship Apparel
Our Latest Stories