PGA Tour issues statement on Tiger Woods' drop on No. 14

Tiger Woods makes a drop on Sunday at the Players Championship (Getty Images)
Tiger Woods makes a drop on Sunday at the Players Championship (Getty Images)

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Expert Picks | Equipment | FedEx Cup

Tiger Woods looked to be cruising to victory at the Players Championship on Sunday afternoon. Then he hit a horrible shot about 30 feet deep away from the fairway on the par-4, 484-yard 14th hole and into a pond. 

That forced Woods to take a drop ... and, with that, Tiger-Drop controversy was renewed after the incorrect drop on No. 15 at Augusta National cost him two strokes. NBC golf commentator Johnny Miller tried to stir up some controversy, saying he didn't properly drop the ball. 

But the PGA Tour quickly quashed any controversy by releasing the following statement: 

"Without definitive evidence, the point where Woods' ball last crossed the lateral water hazard is determined through best judgement by Woods and his fellow competitor. If that point later proves to be a wrong point (through television or other means), the player is not penalized by Rule 26-1 given the fact that a competitor would risk incurring a penalty every time he makes an honest judgment as to the point where his ball last crosses a water-hazard margin and that judgment subsequently proves incorrect (Decision 26-1/17)."

 Woods went on to win by two strokes.

CBS Sports Writer

Kyle Porter began his sports writing career with CBS Sports in 2012. He covers golf, writes poetry about Rory McIlroy's swing, stays ready on Tiger watch and loves the Masters more than anyone you know.... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories