USA Today Sports Images

The College Football Playoff has announced locations for the final two national championship games of the initial 12-year contract. Atlanta will play host to the 2025 College Football Playoff National Championship at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, while the 2026 national championship game will take place at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. 

The College Football Playoff National Championship was previously held in Miami at the conclusion of the 2020 season but was limited in scope due to pandemic-related restrictions. Heisman-winning receiver DeVonta Smith caught 12 passes for 215 yards and three touchdowns to lead Alabama past Ohio State 52-24 in the 2021 national championship game. 

"We are delighted to be returning to Miami," CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in a statement. "South Florida was a great host for the 2021 national championship game despite the event having to be scaled back because of COVID-19, and we look forward to returning in 2026 with a full complement of events and activities during national championship weekend."

Atlanta, meanwhile, previously staged the national title game in 2018. Alabama and Georgia produced the first SEC-only national championship game of the playoff era, with the Crimson Tide sneaking away with a 26-23 win in overtime. Miami and Atlanta now become the only two cities to host the championship game multiple times during the CFP contract. 

These two announcements take the College Football Playoff through the end of the initial 12-year contract dating back to the 2014 college football season, when Ohio State topped Oregon for the national championship. After the Miami game in 2026, the playoff is highly likely to expand and open to new television partners when a new deal is signed ahead of the 2026 season. 

Below is a list of all of the upcoming College Football Playoff National Championship sites: 



Los Angeles

SoFi Stadium



NRG Stadium



Mercedes-Benz Stadium



Hard Rock Stadium