Stanley Cup Final: Sidney Crosby repeats as Conn Smythe Trophy winner

The Pittsburgh Penguins became the first team to win a second successive Stanley Cup since 1998 with a 2-0 victory in Game 6 on Sunday in Nashville. And Sidney Crosby became only the third player to win a second successive Conn Smythe Trophy as the MVP of the playoffs.

The Philadelphia Flyers' Bernie Parent (1974-75) and the Pens' Mario Lemieux (1991-92) were the other back-to-back Conn Smythe winners.

Crosby's 27 playoff points ranked second only to teammate Evgeni Malkin.

CBS Sports Writer

Cody Benjamin joined CBS Sports in 2017 after time spent with SB Nation, various newspapers and his own Eagles outlet. Raised around the Philly sports scene, he now lives in Minnesota with his wife and... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories