Getty Images

Eight teams remain in the UEFA Champions League as the quarterfinal and semifinal draw is set for Friday in the House of European Football in Nyon, Switzerland. The festivities get underway at 7 a.m. ET and you can catch all the action live on Paramount+ and CBS Sports HQ

Three teams from Spain, three giants from England, one from Germany and one from Portugal were left alive after the round of 16 concluded on Wednesday. Gone are names like Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, but several giants are still in contention, with a couple of Cinderella candidates sprinkled in between. This draw will see the quarterfinal matches decided, while we will also get the eight-team bracket to carry us all the way to the May 28 final in Paris, knowing who could potentially meet in the semifinals and final. An underrated aspect of the draw is that we'll learn who will get the "home" designation for each leg.  

Ahead of Friday's draw, here is how to watch, what to know and more:

How to watch and start time

Date: Friday, March 18 | Time: 7 a.m. ET
Location: UEFA headquarters -- Nyon, Switzerland
TV and live stream: Paramount+ and CBS Sports HQ

Teams remaining

  • Bayern Munich
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Real Madrid
  • Atletico Madrid
  • Benfica
  • Chelsea
  • Villarreal

Rules for draw

Well, there aren't any. In the group stage and the round of 16, teams from the same federation are not allowed to be matched together. But once the quarterfinal stage comes around, nothing is off limits here. That means we could potentially get Liverpool vs. Manchester City in the last eight. We may even see Real Madrid against Atletico Madrid with a spot in the semifinals on the line. Any combination of matchups could be drawn on Friday, and there are certain to be four mouth-watering ones. 

Be sure to stick with CBS Sports for all of your Champions League coverage ahead of Friday's draw and throughout the remainder of the season.

Champions League schedule

First legs: April 5 and 6
Second legs: April 13 and 13

First legs: April 26 and 27
Second legs: May 3 and 4

Saturday, May 28 (Stade de France, Paris)