Getty Images

The tee times -- or games, as they are called on the other side of the pond -- are set for the 149th Open Championship, and there are some great ones Thursday as the final major of the year gets rolling at Royal St. George's. The R&A -- like Augusta National for the Masters -- does a fine job of making the featured groups good but not too good, giving spectators reason to tune in throughout the entire rounds over the first 36 holes.

Combining strong groups throughout the day with all golfers beginning their rounds on the first tee engenders interest from the start until the last putt drops in the early evening stateside. It all makes for a phenomenal viewing experience that will be aided by some top-tier groups spread across the morning. All times Eastern

  • Brooks Koepka, Jason Kokrak, Garrick Higgo (3:03 a.m.)
  • Jordan Spieth, Bryson DeChambeau, Branden Grace (4:25 a.m.)
  • Shane Lowry, Jon Rahm, Louis Oosthuizen (4:58 a.m.)
  • Dustin Johnson, Will Zalatoris, Justin Rose (5:20 a.m.)
  • Xander Schauffele, Robert MacIntyre, Rickie Fowler (9:59 a.m.)
  • Justin Thomas, Tommy Fleetwood, Adam Scott (10:10 a.m.)
  • Rory McIlroy, Patrick Reed, Cameron Smith (10:21 a.m.)

While there's not a mega-supernova group, there's several intriguing ones with golfers you don't often see paired together. That Thomas-Fleetwood-Scott group is absolutely flush city, and the Lowry-Rahm-Oosthuizen threesome should be another great follow as well with two reigning major champions and one who can't stop finishing runner up.

With most of the field on the course Thursday, some big numbers have already been put up with Spieth and Oosthuizen in particular impressing by turning in two of the best rounds of the day to this point. It has been an exciting Open that is only going to get more eye-catching as the week unfolds.

Here are the rest of the tee times for the 149th Open. Be sure to check out the full Open schedule and coverage guide and follow live coverage of Round 1 at The Open from CBS Sports. All times Eastern

2021 Open tee times, Thursday pairings

1:35 a.m. – Richard Bland, Andy Sullivan, Marcus Armitage
1:46 a.m. – Chan Kim, Justin Harding, Haotong Li
1:57 a.m. – Mike Lorenzo-Vera, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Abel Gallegos
2:08 a.m. – Alex Noren, J.C. Ritchie, Richard Mansell
2:19 a.m. – Dean Burmester, Danny Willett, Laird Shepherd
2:30 a.m. – Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Sam Horsfield, Min Woo Lee
2:41 a.m. – Viktor Hovland, Ryan Palmer, Thomas Detry
2:52 a.m. – Paul Casey, Abraham Ancer, Ian Poulter
3:03 a.m. – Brooks Koepka, Jason Kokrak, Garrick Higgo
3:14 a.m. – Daniel Berger, Joaquin Niemann, Joel Dahmen
3:25 a.m. – Darren Clarke, Bernd Wiesberger, Joe Long
3:36 a.m. – Chris Kik, Marcus Kinhult, Jack Senior
3:47 a.m. – Talor Gooch, C.T. Pan, Jonathan Thomson
4:03 a.m. – Ernie Els, Gary Woodland, Cole Hammer
4:14 a.m. – Sam Burns, Lucas Herbert, Jorge Campillo
4:25 a.m. – Jordan Spieth, Bryson DeChambeau, Branden Grace
4:36 a.m. – Brian Harman, Mackenzie Hughes, Dylan Frittelli
4:47 a.m. – Victor Perez, Kevin Streelman, Guido Migliozzi
4:58 a.m. – Shane Lowry, Jon Rahm, Louis Oosthuizen
5:09 a.m. – Stewart Cink, Lee Westwood, Martin Kaymer
5:20 a.m. – Dustin Johnson, Will Zalatoris, Justin Rose
5:31 a.m. – Scottie Scheffler, Sergio Garcia, Yuxin Lin
5:42 a.m. – Harris English, Erik van Rooyen, Chez Reavie
5:53 a.m. – Lucas Glover, Ben An, Brandt Snedeker
6:04 a.m. – Cameron Tringale, Takumi Kanaya, Marcel Schneider
6:15 a.m. – Lanto Griffin, Rikuya Hoshino, Connor Worsdall
6:36 a.m. – Aaron Rai, Paul Waring, Daniel Craft
6:47 a.m. – Daniel van Tonder, Jazz Janewattananond, Christoffer Bring
6:58 a.m. – Harold Varner III, Brendan Steele, Matthias Schmid
7:09 a.m. – Troy Merritt, Adam Long, Jaco Ahlers
7:20 a.m. – Jason Day, Joost Luiten, Johannes Veerman
7:31 a.m. – John Catlin, Romain Langasque, Aaron Pike
7:42 a.m. – Padraig Harrington, Brad Kennedy, Sam Forgan
7:53 a.m. – Tony Finau, Billy Horschel, Adam Hadwin
8:04 a.m. – Patrick Cantlay, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Ryan Fox
8:15 a.m. – Francesco Molinari, Marc Leishman, Matt Wallace
8:26 a.m. – Collin Morikawa, Corey Conners, Sebastian Munoz
8:37 a.m. – Jason Scrivener, Keith Mitchell, Sam Bairstow
8:48 a.m. – Charley Hoffman, Emiliano Grillo, Benjamin Herbert
9:04 a.m. – Keegan Bradley, Richard T. Lee, Rafa Cabrera Bello
9:15 a.m. – Carlos Ortiz, Brendon Todd, Matthias Schwab
9:26 a.m. – Webb Simpson, Russell Henley, Shaun Norris
9:37 a.m. – Matt Jones, Daniel Hillier, Marcel Siem
9:48 a.m. – Phil Mickelson, Tyrrell Hatton, Kevin Kisner
9:59 a.m. – Xander Schauffele, Robert MacIntyre, Rickie Fowler
10:10 a.m. – Justin Thomas, Tommy Fleetwood, Adam Scott
10:21 a.m. – Rory McIlroy, Patrick Reed, Cameron Smith
10:32 a.m. – Henrik Stenson, Max Homa, Matt Kuchar
10:43 a.m. – Antoine Rozner, Ryosuke Kinoshita, Ben Hutchinson
10:54 a.m. – Kurt Kitayama, Deyen Lawson, Poom Saksansin
11:05 a.m. – Yuki Inamori, Jimmy Walker, Ricardo Celia
11:16 a.m. – Rikard Karlberg, Ryutaro Nagano, Nicholas Poppleton