Messi, Ronaldo, Neymar up for FIFA men's Award 2017, Lloyd up for women's award

FIFA announced the candidates for the Best FIFA Men's Award for 2017 on Friday, and as expected Barcelona's Lionel Messi, Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo and PSG new boy Neymar made the list. 

Ronaldo is looked at as the heavy favorite after Real Madrid's incredible 2017, which included winning another Champions League title. Ronaldo had 42 goals last season for Real, and he's scored 10 goals for Portugal so far this year. Messi had 54 goals last season for Barca while scoring eight for Argentina, but Real's UCL and La Liga success will likely be enough for Ronaldo to take the award. Neymar had 20 goals for Barcelona last season and four this year for Brazil.

On the women's side, U.S. women's national team star Carli Lloyd is in the running for the best women's player award, and she's joined by Deyna Castellanos of Venezuela and Lieke Martens of the Netherlands. The Dutch star is the favorite to take home the award after guiding her nation to glory at Euro 2017 and finishing the cup as the best player, finishing with three goals, one in the final vs. Denmark.

The awards will be given out on Oct. 23. 

For news, stories, results and more, follow us:

- @CBSSportsSoccer - @RGonzalezCBS - Facebook

CBS Sports Writer

Roger Gonzalez is an award-winning writer based in Virginia that has covered pro soccer from Europe's top clubs to Argentina's first division. Roger started out his pro soccer writing career with Full Bio

Our Latest Stories