Phil Mickelson forced to assess himself two-stroke penalty in final round at Greenbrier
This is a perfect bookend to that U.S. Open snafu
It took all of one tournament after the U.S. Open for Phil Mickelson to give a little wink and a nod at his. Mickelson, who was not disqualified from that event (but probably should have been), assessed himself a two-stroke penalty at A Military Tribute at the Greenbrier on Sunday in Round 4.
Mickelson, playing the par-4 7th hole at Old White TPC, walked up and matted down some heavy rough just ahead of the tee box. You can clearly watch him commit the penalty in the video below.
The action is a violation of Rule 13-2, which states the following:
3-2. Improving Lie, Area of Intended Stance or Swing, or Line of Play
A player must not improve or allow to be improved:
- the position or lie of his ball,
- the area of his intended stance or swing,
- his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole, or
- the area in which he is to drop or place a ball ...
The part that applies to Mickelson is about improving his line of play. He had a discussion with a rules official and then gave himself the two-stroke penalty. Mickelson made a double bogey on the hole to go from 3 under at the time and 11 strokes behind the leaders to 1 under and 13 back.
The John Deere Classic was scheduled for July 9-12
This is not something you see every day
Basketball stars, football coaches and of course the premier faces of golf
David Samson predicts more access will come when games start resuming
The much-needed live sporting event showcased Manning's game, Justin Thomas' talent and golf's...
This was the shot of the day at Medalist Golf Club through seven holes, and it will be tough...
Athletes with a combined 28 championships to their names teed it off for charity on Sunday
McIlroy and Dustin Johnson beat Fowler and Matthew Wolff in an overtime closest-to-the-pin...