The Hall of Fame has two new members.

Hall of Fame president Jeff Idelson announced Sunday that former commissioner Bud Selig and longtime executive John Schuerholz have been voted into the Hall of Fame by the Today's Game Era Committee. The announcement was made during a live MLB Network broadcast.

The Today's Game Era Committee consists of 16 members. The committee includes current Hall of Famers, executives and media members. Twelve votes are needed to be elected. Schuerholz was voted in unanimously. Selig received 15 votes.

Selig, 82, served as baseball's acting commissioner from 1992-98 and official commissioner from 1998-2015. Under his watch, MLB expanded to 30 teams, implemented interleague play, underwent divisional realignment, added a third round to the postseason (in which the playoff field expanded from four teams to 10) and grew financially by a tremendous amount.

Of course, Selig's tenure was not without its black marks. He presided over the so-called Steroid Era, held a vote to contract to Twins and Expos in 2001, and watched the All-Star Game finish in a tie in 2002. Despite all that, Selig will go down as arguably the most successful commissioner in MLB history.

Before taking over as commissioner, Selig owned the Milwaukee Brewers from 1970 until taking over as commissioner. He purchased the Seattle Pilots -- a 1969 expansion team -- through bankruptcy court and moved the franchise to Milwaukee. Selig retired in 2015 and currently holds the title of commissioner emeritus.

Bud Selig was voted into the Hall of Fame by the 2016 Today's Era Committee. USATSI

Schuerholz, 76, started his front office career with the Orioles in 1966. He joined the expansion Royals in 1969 and became their general manager in 1981. At the time, he was the youngest general manager in baseball history. Schuerholz joined the Braves as their general manager in 1990 and is currently their team president.

During his years as a general manager, Schuerholz built two World Series champions (1985 Royals, 1995 Braves) and 15 division winners. Many of his lieutenants have gone to become general managers themselves, including Frank Wren, Dayton Moore and John Coppolella.

Harold Baines, Albert Belle, Will Clark, Orel Hershiser, Davey Johnson, Mark McGwire, Lou Piniella and George Steinbrenner were also on the Today's Game Era ballot. Each received fewer than 12 votes and was not elected to the Hall of Fame.

Earlier this year the Hall of Fame announced changes to the Era Committee system. What was once known as the Veterans Committee has now been replaced by four panels: Early Baseball (1871-1949), Golden Days (1950-69), Modern Baseball (1970-87), and Today's Game (1988-2016). Each committee meets once every few years.

The BBWAA's Hall of Fame ballot includes 34 players this year. The rest of the 2017 Hall of Fame class will be announced Jan. 18.