Manu Ginobili Spurs getty
Getty Images

Earlier this year, during the NBA's All-Star Weekend, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced the finalists for the class of 2022. The inductees will formally be announced later this week at the Final Four, but some of the names have already been reported. 

Here are the five former players and coaches who will be inducted, according to Shams Charania of The Athletic:

  • Manu Ginobili 
  • Tim Hardaway
  • Swin Cash
  • George Karl
  • Bob Huggins

Ginobili, of course, spent his entire career with the San Antonio Spurs, and won four titles alongside Tim Duncan and Tony Parker. A two-time All-Star, two-time All-NBA performer and one of the best Sixth Men in NBA history, Ginobili was a fan favorite across the league thanks to his flair and creativity. 

Hardaway, the father of Dallas Mavericks guard Tim Hardaway Jr., was one of the best guards of the 1990s. During that decade he made five All-Star Games and five All-NBA teams, including a First Team appearance in 1997. He also helped Team USA win a gold medal at the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, Australia. 

Cash, who last summer was named to the WNBA's 25th anniversary team, starred at the collegiate, professional and international levels. She's a two-time NCAA champion, three-time WNBA champion and two-time Olympic gold medalist. She also made four WNBA All-Star Games and two All-WNBA teams. 

Karl spent five seasons with the San Antonio Spurs in the ABA and NBA, but is most well known for his prolific coaching career. He was the head coach of six different teams and missed the playoffs just five times in 27 seasons. The NBA Coach of the Year in 2013, he led the Seattle SuperSonics to the NBA Finals in 1996 and is sixth on the all-time coaching wins list with 1,175.

Huggins has been coaching at the collegiate level since 1977, and is still in charge at West Virginia. He made his mark at Cincinnati, leading the program to the Final Four in 1992 for the first time in nearly 30 years. When he took over at West Virginia, he quickly took them to the Final Four in 2010 for the first time in over 50 years. He is the sixth winningest NCAA Division I coach of all time with 900 career wins.