The College Football Playoff has determined the assignments for the officials that will determine the national championship. The names of those officials won't be revealed until game day, but now we know which conferences are responsible for providing the refs for the Peach Bowl, Fiesta Bowl and CFP title game.

GameMatchupOfficals (conference)
Peach BowlNo. 1 Alabama vs. No. 4 WashingtonBig Ten
Fiesta BowlNo. 2 Clemson vs. No. 3 Ohio StatePac-12
CFP title gameAlabama/Washington vs. Clemson/Ohio StateBig 12

The Big 12 getting the title game is not a surprise, as it was the conference that got left out of the playoff. Every year, the one league (or one of the leagues) missing the playoff will be assigned to the title game.

While every fan seems to have a bias against a certain set of conference-based officials, the most notorious ref-related controversy from the 2016 regular season season was the end of Oklahoma State-Central Michigan. The MAC officials (not in the playoff) for that game were suspended after it was determined they had erred in giving the Chippewas an untimed down that led to the winning score. The blunder helped CMU become bowl eligible, but it did not ultimately prevent Oklahoma State from playoff consideration following Oklahoma's undefeated run through Big 12 conference play.

However, the Big 12 did later admit that it could have buzzed in from its replay center to potentially prevent the untimed down. Luckily, I think the national championship game will have everyone's eyes, making it unlikely for any mistake to go unrecognized.