Getty Images

The LIV Golf Invitational Series is scheduled to make its long-awaited debut on Thursday, as the first event of the PGA Tour's rival golf league has finally arrived. Taking place from June 9-11, the inaugural tournament will take on a shape different from what golf fans have grown accustomed to seeing for last number of decades.

Instead of the traditional 72-hole stroke play-style event, the LIV Golf Series will employ a 54-hole tournament and feature a 48-man field divided into 12 teams of four. A combination of a team and individual format will unfold at the Centurion Golf Club in London in what will be the first of eight events on the league's 2022 schedule.

The 48 participating players will play a shotgun start in groups of three on 16 of the 18 holes. This means that, from beginning to end, the entire round will last only five hours and golfers will end their days at the same time on different holes instead of all ending their rounds on either No. 18 or No. 9 as is traditionally the case on the PGA Tour.

The prize pools for these events are truly insane, as the individual purse is $20 million with an additional $5 million set aside for the team portion of the competition. Not only are the format and dollar figures unorthodox, but so is the viewing experience as LIV Golf plans to stream their product on a number of different platforms as they have yet to secure a television broadcast partner.

This means if you plan to watch Phil Mickelson's return to competitive golf, you will not have the luxury of simply turning on your television. For that, you will have to wait till next week when he tees it up at The Country Club for the U.S. Open.

How to watch LIV Golf Invitational Series in London

Event: LIV Golf Invitational Series in London | June 9-11
Start time: 9 a.m. ET
Location: Centurion Club -- London, England
Live stream:, Facebook, YouTube

Teams for LIV Golf Invitational Series in London

Team Name:Captain:Members:


Dustin Johnson

Shaun Norris, Oliver Bekker, Kevin Yuan


Graeme McDowell

Bernd Wiesberger, Turk Petit, Oliver Fisher


Ian Poulter

Lee Westwood, Sam Horsfield, Laurie Canter

Iron Heads

Kevin Na

Sadom Kaewkanjana, Hideto Tanihara, Viraj Madappa


Louis Oosthuizen

Branden Grace, Charl Schwartzel, Henni du Plessis


Martin Kaymer

Pablo Larrazabal, J.C. Ritchie, Ian Snyman


Peter Uihlein

Richard Bland, Phachara Khongwatmai, Travis Smyth

HY Flyers

Phil Mickelson

Justin Harding, TK Chantananuwat, Chase Koepka

Fire Balls

Sergio Garcia

David Puig, James Piot, Jediah Morgan


Sihwan Kim

Scott Vincent, Jinichiro Kozuma, Itthipat Buranatanyarat


Talor Gooch

Hudson Swafford, Adrian Otaegui, Andy Ogletree


Wade Ormsby

Matt Jones, Ryosuke Kinoshita, Blake Windred