Sam Burns will try to defend his title when he participates in the 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship, which begins on Thursday, Sept. 29. Burns closed as the favorite last year, and he is the 11-1 favorite in the latest 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship odds. Three of the last four winners at the Country Club of Jackson have ranked inside the top-10 in driving distance, which could be a factor to consider when making your 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship bets. 

Burns is followed by J.T. Poston (16-1), Denny McCarthy (18-1), Sahith Theegala (20-1) and Russell Henley (22-1) on the PGA odds board. Theegala held either the outright lead or was a co-leader after each of the first three rounds of this event last year, but he wound up finishing in eighth place. Will Theegala be in the mix again this week, or should you look elsewhere for value? Before locking in your 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship picks, be sure to see the PGA Tour predictions and betting advice from SportsLine's proven golf model.

SportsLine's proprietary model, built by DFS pro Mike McClure, has been red-hot since the PGA Tour resumed in June of 2020. In fact, the model is up over $9,500 on its best bets since the restart, nailing tournament after tournament.

McClure's model included J.T. Poston in its best bets to win the 2022 John Deere Classic. That bet hit at +5500, and for the entire tournament, McClure's best bets returned almost $1,100. At the 2022 Masters, McClure's model was all over Scottie Scheffler's first career major championship victory heading into the weekend.

In addition, McClure's best bets included Collin Morikawa winning outright at the 2021 Open Championship, even though he was listed as a massive 40-1 long shot. The model was also all over Jon Rahm's (10-1) first career major championship victory at the 2021 U.S. Open. Rahm was two strokes off the lead heading into the weekend, but the model still projected him as the winner.

This same model has also nailed a whopping eight majors entering the weekend. Anyone who has followed it has seen massive returns.

Now that the 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship field is locked, SportsLine simulated the tournament 10,000 times, and the results were surprising. Head to SportsLine now to see the projected leaderboard.

Top 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship predictions 

One major surprise the model is calling for at the 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship: Denny McCarthy, one of the top favorites at 18-1, stumbles this week and doesn't even crack the top-five. McCarthy is coming off an impressive season on the PGA Tour, recording five top-10 finishes, which includes a T-7 showing at the U.S. Open in June. However, the 29-year-old struggled down the stretch, missing the cut in three of his last six events. 

In addition, McCarthy was extremely inconsistent with his approach shots last season, ranking 131st in greens in regulation percentage (65.33%) and strokes gained: approach the green (-.059), which doesn't bode well for his chances to win this week. He's not a strong pick to win it all and there are far better values in the Sanderson Farms Championship 2022 field.

Another surprise: Taylor Montgomery, a 35-1 longshot, makes a strong run at the title. Montgomery has a much better chance to win it all than his odds imply, so he's a target for anyone looking for a huge payday. He was a consistent golfer on the Korn Ferry Tour last season, and he carded a top-15 at the Farmers Insurance Open. Montgomery is coming off a strong showing at the Fortinet Championship, finishing in third place at 13-under-par.

He currently leads the PGA Tour in strokes gained: putting, which bodes well for his chances of contending this weekend. Montgomery also ranks third in strokes gained: total, which is why his odds continue to shrink in each tournament that he plays in. Those impressive stats, plus his long odds, make Montgomery a strong value pick for your 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship bets this week. See who else to pick here.

How to make 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship picks

The model is targeting four other golfers with odds of 35-1 or longer who will make surprising runs. Anyone who backs these long shots could hit it big. You can only see the model's picks here.

So who will win the Sanderson Farms Championship 2022? And which longshots stun the golfing world? Check out the 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship odds below and then visit SportsLine to see the projected 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship leaderboard, all from the model that's nailed eight golf majors, including this year's Masters.

2022 Sanderson Farms Championship odds, field

See full Sanderson Farms Championship 2022 picks, best bets, and predictions here.

Sam Burns 11-1
J.T. Poston 16-1
Denny McCarthy 18-1
Sahith Theegala 20-1
Russell Henley 22-1
Sebastian Munoz 25-1
Christian Bezuidenhout 28-1
Scott Stallings 30-1
Taylor Montgomery 35-1
Keegan Bradley 35-1
Emiliano Grillo 40-1
Thomas Detry 40-1
Davis Riley 40-1
Seamus Power 40-1
Taylor Moore 45-1
Chris Kirk 45-1
Andrew Putnam 45-1
Harris English 50-1
Sepp Straka 50-1
Adam Hadwin 50-1
Trey Mullinax 50-1
Gary Woodland 60-1
Alex Smalley 60-1
Dean Burmester 65-1
Brendan Steele 65-1
Wyndham Clark 65-1
Aaron Rai 65-1
Nick Taylor 80-1
Stephen Jaeger 80-1
Mark Hubbard 80-1
Byeong-Hun An 80-1
Brendon Todd 80-1
Kevin Streelman 80-1
Justin Lower 80-1
Adam Svensson 80-1
Justin Suh 80-1
Adam Long 80-1
Russell Knox 80-1
Robby Shelton 100-1
Patrick Rodgers 100-1
Nick Hardy 100-1
David Lipsky 100-1
Chez Reavie 100-1
Stewart Cink 100-1
C.T. Pan 100-1
Adam Schenk 100-1
Henrik Norlander 100-1
Hayden Buckley 130-1
Peter Malnati 130-1
Paul Haney 130-1
Greyson Sigg 130-1
Davis Thompson 130-1
Michael Thompson 130-1
Michael Gligic 130-1
Carl Yuan 130-1
Martin Laird 130-1
Matthew NeSmith 130-1
Mackenzie Hughes 130-1
Chesson Hadley 130-1
Luke List 130-1
Callum Tarren 130-1
M.J. Daffue 130-1
Lee Hodges 130-1
Brandon Wu 130-1
Ben Taylor 130-1
Austin Smotherman 130-1
Zecheng Dou 130-1
Zac Blair 130-1
Will Gordon 130-1
Tyler Duncan 130-1
John Huh 130-1
Rory Sabbatini 130-1
Nick Lindheim 150-1
Dylan Frittelli 150-1
Nate Lashley 150-1
Brian Stuard 150-1
Seong-Hyeon Kim 150-1
Austin Eckroat 150-1
Vince Whaley 150-1
Joseph Bramlett 150-1
Robert Streb 200-1
Philip Knowles 200-1