The Sun Belt is going where it hasn't gone before. USATSI

Welcome to the party, pal.

The Sun Belt Conference will become the last of the 10 FBS leagues to hold a football championship game when it holds its first such contest in 2018.

Following in the footsteps of the Big 12, which late last week announced it will welcome back its title game beginning in 2017, the Sun Belt will become the second league to take advantage of a recent NCAA decision that allows all leagues -- even those with fewer than 12 members and without two six-team divisions -- to hold championship games.

Like the Big 12, which last week at its spring meetings tabled expansion of its league, the Sun Belt will consist of 10 teams in 2018.

The Sun Belt currently has 11 members but will be dropping football-only members Idaho and New Mexico State following the 2017 season. Idaho has chosen to drop down to FCS, while New Mexico State's fate remains undecided. The conference will add Coastal Carolina, which is moving up from FCS to FBS, in 2018, giving it 10 teams once again.

Arkansas State has won four of the last five Sun Belt regular-season titles, splitting the 2013 crown with Louisiana-Lafayette and seeing Georgia Southern take the championship in 2014.

"This is a historic moment that represents yet another step forward for the Sun Belt Conference," said commissioner Karl Benson on Wednesday. "The championship will be a first-class experience -- and we look forward to it being a launching pad for a team to reach the College Football Playoff's New Year's Six bowl games."

Whereas the Big 12 is leaning towards splitting into two five-team divisions, the Sun Belt has not decided how it will determine its championship game participants.