CLEVELAND -- For the first time in 108 years, the Chicago Cubs are World Series champions. The Cubbies beat the Cleveland Indians in a thrilling Game 7 at Progressive Field on Wednesday night. It was one of the best games you'll ever see. An instant classic.

The Cubs had not only the longest championship drought in baseball, but in all of professional sports. Lots of people waited a very long time to see the Cubs win a World Series title.

So, with the Cubs finally on top, the longest championship drought in baseball now belongs to the team they beat - the Indians. Cleveland has not won a World Series since way back in 1948.

The Indians' World Series drought lives on. USATSI

The Indians have come extremely close to a few times in the past 68 years. Most notably, they held a one-run lead in the ninth inning of Game 7 of the 1997 World Series before Jose Mesa blew the save and Edgar Renteria walked it off for the Marlins in the 11th inning. There was also Game 7 this year, which went to extra innings and featured a dramatic comeback by Cleveland.

Here is the year of each team's last championship, or the year they entered the league as an expansion team.

2016: Cubs
2015: Royals
2014: Giants
2013: Red Sox
2011: Cardinals
2009: Yankees
2008: Phillies
2005: White Sox
2003: Marlins
2002: Angels
2001: Diamondbacks
1998: Rays (entered league as expansion team)
1995: Braves
1993: Blue Jays, Rockies (entered league as expansion team)
1991: Twins
1990: Reds
1989: Athletics
1988: Dodgers
1986: Mets
1984: Tigers
1983: Orioles
1979: Pirates
1977: Mariners (entered league as an expansion team)
1969: Brewers, Padres, Nationals (all entered league as expansion teams)
1962: Astros (entered league as expansion team)
1961: Rangers (entered league as expansion team)
1948: Indians

The Rays, Rockies, Mariners, Brewers, Padres, Nationals, Astros, and Rangers have all yet to win a World Series championship since joining MLB as expansion clubs. Also, the Pirates have baseball's longest drought between pennants. They haven't played in a World Series since the 1979 "We Are Family" team.