The National Women's Soccer League is officially over. The Washington Spirit are your 2021 champions. Six teams entered the playoff fray -- Portland Thorns FC, OL Reign, Washington Spirit, Chicago Red Stars, NJ/NY Gotham FC and the North Carolina Courage -- and only one is left standing.

This is the first year for the NWSL's expanded playoff format, with six teams qualifying instead of only four in years prior where the the top four teams at season's end would clinch a spot in the semifinals.

This time around, six teams competed in single-elimination playoffs with the top two seeds earning a bye straight to the semifinals, and the NWSL Championship on CBS, which was originally scheduled to take place at Providence Park in Portland, Oregon, instead being contested at Lynn Family Stadium in Louisville, Kentucky, home of Racing Louisville FC.

Let's take a look at the playoff schedule:

NWSL playoff schedule and bracket

CBS Sports

First-round byes into semifinals: 

  • 1. Portland Thorns FC (44 points, +16 GD)
  • 2. OL Reign (42 points, +10 GD)

Sunday, Nov. 7 (Quarterfinals)
Chicago Red Stars 1, NJ/NY Gotham 0
Washington Spirit 1, North Carolina Courage 0 (a.e.t.)

Sunday, Nov. 14 (Semifinals)
OL Reign 2, Washington Spirit 2 
Portland Thorns FC 0, Chicago Red Stars 2

Saturday, Nov. 20 (NWSL Championship)
Washington Spirit 2, Chicago Red Stars 1

Final NWSL standings

  1. Portland Thorns: 43 points -- clinched playoff spot

  2. OL Reign: 39 points -- clinched playoff spot

  3. Washington Spirit: 38 points -- clinched playoff spot

  4. Chicago Red Stars: 38 points -- clinched playoff spot

  5. NJ/NY Gotham FC: 34 points -- clinched playoff spot

  6. North Carolina Courage: 33 points -- clinched playoff spot


  7. North Carolina Courage: 32 points -- eliminated

  8. Orlando Pride:  28 points -- eliminated

  9. Racing Louisville FC: 20 points -- eliminated

  10. Kansas City NWSL: 16 points -- eliminated