Tuesday evening, Dodgers rookie skipper Dave Roberts was named the 2016 National League Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Cubs skipper Joe Maddon finished second in the voting. Dusty Baker of the Nationals finished third.

The voting was not particularly close. Roberts received 16 of the 30 first place votes and racked up 108 total voting points. Maddon received eight first place votes and 70 points. Baker received four first place votes and Mets manager Terry Collins received the other two.

Roberts led the Dodgers to a 91-71 record and an NL West title in his first year on the job. He did that even though Los Angeles sent a record 28 players to the disabled list in 2016. Staff ace Clayton Kershaw missed two months with a back injury, most notably.

Dave Roberts was named Manager of the Year in his first year on the job. USATSI

It's important to note ballots were cast following the regular season but before the postseason, so the Cubs' historic World Series win -- and their NLCS win over Roberts and the Dodgers -- had no bearing on Maddon's finish. He won the award last year and guided the Cubbies to a 103-58 record in 2016, eight more wins than any other team.

Baker returned to the dugout this season after a a two-year hiatus. He led the Nationals to a 95-67 record and the NL East title. That came after Washington went a disappointing 83-79 last year and the players nearly mutinied against then-manager Matt Williams. Baker was a breath of fresh air.

Roberts is the first Dodgers manager to be named Manager of the Year since Tommy Lasorda way back in 1988. Lasorda (1983, 1988) and Roberts (2016) are the only Dodgers managers to win the award.

The full 2016 NL Manager of the Year voting results can be found at the BBWAA's website.