The Big Ten rolls out its awards during the week leading up to the league's final event, the Big Ten championship game on Saturday night in Indianapolis. The league announced most of the defensive honors on Tuesday, along with the coaches pick and media pick for coach of the year.

Forced to choose among themselves, the Big Ten coaches selected Wisconsin's Paul Chryst as the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year. The media's choice wins the Dave McClain Coach of the Year award, which went to Penn State's James Franklin.

Michigan star Jabrill Peppers took home the most honors, winning Defensive Player of the Year, Linebacker of the Year and Return Specialist of the Year. He's the fourth Wolverine to claim the defensive POY honors and the first since Larry Foote in 2006. Teammate Jourdan Lewis was named Defensive Back of the Year, and Ohio State's Tyquan Lewis was named Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Peppers discussed being named Defensive Player of the Year with the Big Ten Network after the award was announced.

"I'd like to thank the scout team first and foremost," Peppers said. "They gave us great looks all year. Coach Brown did a great job putting us in position to excel, so I guess this is a byproduct of all of that."

All-Big Ten Defensive First Team

DL: Tyquan Lewis, Ohio State
DL: Taco Charlton, Michigan
DL: Chris Wormley, Michigan
DL: Jaleel Johnson, Iowa
LB: Raekwon McMillan, Ohio State
LB: Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
LB: T.J. Watt, Wisconsin
DB: Malik Hooker, Ohio State
DB: Marshon Lattimore, Ohio State
DB: Jourdan Lewis, Michigan
DB: Desmond King, Iowa

All-Big Ten Special Teams First Team

K: Emmit Carpenter, Minnesota
P: Cameron Johnston, Ohio State
RS: Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

The Big Ten will release the offensive honorees on Wednesday at 5 p.m. ET.