Israel Adesanya vs Robert Whittaker 2 UFC 271 MMA News
Getty Images

The latest UFC PPV event is in the books. Middleweight champion Israel Adesanya managed to retain his title in a gritty battle against former titleholder Robert Whittaker -- the man he first won the title from in October 2019. 

Adesanya relied on his speed and movement to avoid many of the power shots from Whittaker, though the former champion did find some success in the wrestling game this time and made a case to steal some of the rounds. Now, Adesanya likely heads into his next title defense against a man who fought on the undercard on Saturday in Jared Cannonier. 

Speaking of fighters who saw their stock rise, look no further than Tai Tuivasa, who scored a thunderous knockout of Derrick Lewis in the co-main event. The Aussie rallied from a knockdown in Round 1 to drop the Houston native with a vicious elbow and leave him in a heap in Round 2. 

Can't get enough boxing and MMA? Get the latest in the world of combat sports from two of the best in the business. Subscribe to Morning Kombat with Luke Thomas and Brian Campbell for the best analysis and in-depth news, including instant analysis to UFC 271 at the conclusion of the event below.

CBS Sports was with you throughout fight week with the latest news, in-depth features and betting advice to consider. Thanks for stopping by and we'll see you at UFC 272.

UFC 271 fight card, results

  • Israel Adesanya (c) def. Robert Whittaker via unanimous decision (48-47, 48-47, 49-46)
  • Tai Tuivasa def. Derrick Lewis via second-round TKO (punches)
  • Jared Cannonier def. Derek Brunson via second-round TKO (punches)
  • Renato Moicano def. Alexander Hernandez via second-round submission (rear naked choke)
  • Bobby Green def. Nasrat Haqparast via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Andrei Arlovski def. Jared Vanderaa via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
  • Casey O'Neill def. Roxanne Modafferi via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
  • Kyler Phillips def. Marcelo Rojo via third-round submission (arm bar)
  • Carlos Ulberg def. Fabio Cherant via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Ronnie Lawrence def. Mana Martinez via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-28)
  • Jacob Malkoun def. AJ Dobson via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Douglas Silva De Andrade def. Sergey Morozov via second-round submission (rear naked choke)
  • Jeremiah Wells def. Mike Diamond via first-round submission (rear naked choke)
  • Maxim Grishin def. William Knight via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

UFC 271 countdown