Alabama defensive end Jonathan Allen was named the Nagurski Trophy winner on Monday night, as the Football Writers Association of America recognized him as college football's defensive player of the year.

Allen beat out teammate Reuben Foster, Clemson's Christian Wilkins, Michigan's Jabrill Peppers and Florida State's Tarvarus McFadden for the honor.

While Alabama has been known for its defense under Nick Saban, Allen is the first Alabama defender to win the Nagurski Trophy, despite a member of the Tide being named a finalist seven prior times since 2007. The Nagurski has been awarded since 1993. The Bednarik Award, which also honors the nation's top defensive player, has been handed out since 1995 and also never previously gone to an Alabama player either.

On a defense loaded with future NFL talent that finished the season as the nation's best scoring defense, total defense and rushing defense, Allen was the leader from his defensive line spot. He finished the season with 56 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, 8.5 sacks, 15 quarterback hurries and two fumble recoveries (both returned for touchdowns).