For the first time in 71 years, the Chicago Cubs have won the National League pennant. They beat the Dodgers in Game 6 of the NL Championship Series on Saturday night (box score).

The Cubs, as you surely know, have the longest World Series championship drought in baseball. They haven't won a title since 1908. There were only 46 states in the union the last time the Cubs won a title.

Chicago also had the longest pennant drought in baseball. Which team has the longest pennant drought now? That would be the Montreal Expos/Washington Nationals franchise.

The Expos/Nats joined the league as an expansion team in 1969 and have never won a pennant. The closest they came was in 1981, when they lost the best-of-five NLCS to the Dodgers. Rick Monday's ninth inning home run off Steve Rogers decided Game 5.

Here is the year of each team's last pennant:

2016: Cubs and Indians
2015: Royals and Mets
2013: Red Sox and Cardinals
2012: Tigers
2011: Rangers
2009: Yankees and Phillies
2008: Rays
2005: White Sox and Astros
2002: Angels
2001: Diamondbacks
1999: Braves
1998: Padres
1993: Blue Jays
1991: Twins
1990: Reds and Athletics
1988: Dodgers
1983: Orioles
1982: Brewers
1979: Pirates
Never: Expos/Nats and Mariners

The Mariners joined the league as an expansion team in 1977, so their pennant drought is shorter than the Expos/Nats by default.

You're on the clock, Nationals. Bryce Harper ain't gettin' any younger.