2015 NBA Draft Combine participant list released

D'Angelo Russell will be in Chicago for the draft combine next week. (USATSI)
D'Angelo Russell will be in Chicago for the draft combine next week. (USATSI)

The NBA has released its official NBA Draft combine list, and it's marked more by the players who won't be playing than the players who will be. 

Karl-Anthony Towns and Jahlil Okafor -- the No. 1 and 2 players on my NBA Big Board -- will not be participating in workouts next week when the event gets underway. Neither will international players Kristaps Porzingis, Mario Hezonja or Emmanuel Mudiay, which means that five of the top nine players on my board won't be around for NBA scouts and executives to check out. 

However, there are still some strong names here, such as D'Angelo Russell, Justise Winslow and Willie Cauley-Stein, as well as Stanley Johnson, Kelly Oubre and Kevon Looney. It's unknown at this point which of these players will actually play in the 5-on-5 portion of the event, but it should still be a strong event regardless of if some of them sit it out.

Some other quick notes:

  • The top collegiate players on my board to not garner an invite beyond the aforementioned Towns and Okafor duo: Josh Richardson of Tennessee at No. 64, Darrun Hillliard of Villanova at No. 68, Speedy Smith of Louisiana Tech at No. 70, Cady Lalanne of Massachusetts at No. 71, Wesley Saunders of Harvard at No. 73 and Trevor Lacey of N.C. State at No. 74. Depending on how many players drop out of participating in the 5-on-5 portion, it's possible further players could be invited. 
  • The players not ranked on my board to be invited: Corey Hawkins of UC-Davis, Marcus Thornton of William & Mary, Pat Connaughton of Notre Dame, Ryan Boatright of Connecticut, Quinn Cook of Duke, Chasson Randle of Stanford, Chris Walker of Florida and TaShawn Thomas of Oklahoma. None of these players are particularly surprising as invites, as all of them were either high-profile collegiate players or small-school, high-stat players that scouts want to see more of. 
Here is the full list: 

Cliff Alexander, Kansas

Justin Anderson, Virginia

Brandon Ashley, Arizona

Ryan Boatright, Connecticut

Devin Booker, Kentucky

Anthony Brown, Stanford

Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky

Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse

Pat Connaughton, Notre Dame

Quinn Cook, Duke

Branden Dawson, Michigan State

George de Paula, Pinheiros (Brazil)

Sam Dekker, Wisconsin

Michael Frazier II, Florida

Treveon Graham, VCU

Jerian Grant, Notre Dame

Olivier Hanlan, Boston College

Montrezl Harrell, Louisville

Andrew Harrison, Kentucky

Aaron Harrison, Kentucky

Tyler Harvey, Eastern Washington

Corey Hawkins, UC-Davis

Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, Arizona

Jonathan Holmes, Texas

Richaun Holmes, Bowling Green

R.J. Hunter, Georgia State

Vince Hunter, UTEP

Mouhammadou Jaiteh, Nanterre (France)

Dakari Johnson, Kentucky

Stanley Johnson, Arizona

Tyus Jones, Duke

Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin

Kevon Looney, UCLA

Trey Lyles, Kentucky

Jarell Martin, LSU

Chris McCullough, Syracuse

Jordan Mickey, LSU

Larry Nance, Wyoming

Kelly Oubre, Kansas

Cameron Payne, Murray State

Terran Petteway, Nebraska

Bobby Portis, Arkansas

Norman Powell, UCLA

Michael Qualls, Arkansas

Chasson Randle, Stanford

Terry Rozier, Louisville

D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State

Keifer Sykes, Wisconsin-Green Bay

TaShawn Thomas, Oklahoma

Marcus Thornton, William & Mary

J.P. Tokoto, North Carolina

Myles Turner, Texas

Robert Upshaw, Washington

Rashad Vaughn, UNLV

Chris Walker, Florida

Dez Wells, Maryland

Aaron White, Iowa

Alan Williams, UC Santa Barbara

Justise Winslow, Duke

Christian Wood, UNLV

Delon Wright, Utah

Joseph Young, Oregon

Our Latest Stories