BBWAA announces finalists for 2014's major awards

As expected, Clayton Kershaw is a finalist for both NL Cy Young and MVP.
As expected, Clayton Kershaw is a finalist for both NL Cy Young and MVP. (USATSI)

The Baseball Writers' Association of America announced three finalists for each of 2014's major awards during a live television broadcast on Tuesday night. The winners will be announced next week. Here's the schedule:

Monday, Nov. 10: Rookie of the Year
Tuesday, Nov. 11: Manager of the Year
Wednesday, Nov. 12: Cy Young
Thursday, Nov. 13: Most Valuable Player

Both the AL and NL awards will be announced on the same day, which is relatively new. In the past each league was given its own day for the Cy Young and MVP.

As a reminder, the BBWAA ballots are due after the end of the regular season but before the postseason. The playoffs do not factor into the voting. These are regular season awards, after all. Here are the finalists:

Michael Brantley, Indians
Victor Martinez, Tigers
Mike Trout, Angels

Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins

AL Cy Young
Felix Hernandez, Mariners
Corey Kluber, Indians
Chris Sale, White Sox

NL Cy Young
Johnny Cueto, Reds
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
Adam Wainwright, Cardinals

AL Manager of the Year
Mike Scioscia, Angels
Buck Showalter, Orioles
Ned Yost, Royals

NL Manager of the Year
Bruce Bochy, Giants
Clint Hurdle, Pirates
Matt Williams, Nationals

AL Rookie of the Year
Jose Abreu, White Sox
Dellin Betances, Yankees
Matt Shoemaker, Angels

NL Rookie of the Year
Jacob deGrom, Mets
Billy Hamilton, Reds
Kolten Wong, Cardinals

CBS Sports Writer

Mike Axisa joined CBS Sports in 2013. He has been a member of the BBWAA since 2015 and has previously written about both fantasy baseball and real life baseball for,,,... Full Bio

Our Latest Stories