2012 NFL playoffs schedule announced

The NFL announced the first set of playoff schedules on Sunday evening, setting up some serious wild-card action as well as potentially storyline-packed divisional round games.

The Bengals and Texans will kick things off on Saturday afternoon at 4:30 p.m. ET, followed by a Vikings-Packers rematch at 8 p.m. ET.

The Colts and Ravens will square off in the 1 p.m. ET slot on Sunday afternoon, followed by the Seahawks traveling to either Dallas or Washington to play the winner of the Cowboys/Redskins game at 4:30 p.m. ET.

The following weekend, the lowest-remaining AFC seed will head to Denver to play the top-seeded Broncos on Saturday afternoon. That game will be followed by the highest-remaining seed in the NFC squaring off against the 49ers in San Francisco at 8 p.m.

On Sunday, the lowest-remaining seed in the NFC heads to Atlanta to play the Falcons at 1 p.m., while the highest-remaining seed in the AFC will go to New England for a 4:30 p.m. ET game against the Patriots.

Wild-Card Weekend Schedule

Saturday, January 5
No. 6 Bengals at No. 3 Texans: 4:30 p.m. ET (NBC)

No. 6 Vikings at No. 3 Packers: 8 p.m. ET (NBC)

Sunday January 6
No. 5 Colts at No. 4. Ravens: 1:00 p.m. ET (CBS)

No. 5 Seahawks at No. 4 Redskins/Cowboys: 4:30 p.m. ET (FOX)

Divisional Weekend Schedule

Saturday, January 12
No. 4/5/6 winner at No. 1 Denver: 4:30 p.m. ET (CBS)

No. 3/4/5 NFC winner at No. 2 San Francisco: 8 p.m. ET (FOX)

Sunday, January 13
No. 4/5/6 NFC winner at No. 1 Atlanta: 1 p.m. ET (FOX)

No. 3/4/5 AFC winner at No. 2 New England: 4:30 p.m. ET (CBS)

CBS Sports Senior Writer

Will Brinson joined CBS Sports in 2010 and enters his seventh season covering the NFL for CBS. He previously wrote for FanHouse along with myriad other Internet sites. A North Carolina native who lives... Full Bio

Show Comments Hide Comments
Our Latest Stories