Jacob DeGrom is your 2014 NL Rookie of the Year.
Jacob deGrom is your 2014 NL Rookie of the Year. (USATSI)

Mets starting pitcher Jacob deGrom has won the 2014 National League Rookie of the Year award, as voted on by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

DeGrom, 26, began the year with Triple-A Las Vegas, but was a revelation for the Mets once thrown into the rotation, going 9-6 with a 2.69 ERA (130 ERA+) in 22 starts. He struck out 144 in 140 1/3 innings.

The Rookie of the Year has been awarded since 1947, with just one winner for the first two years before spiltting into an AL and NL award in 1949. DeGrom is the fifth winner for the Mets, following Tom Seaver (1967), Jon Matlack (1972), Darryl Strawberry (1983) and Dwight Gooden (1984).

DeGrom's chief competition here came from Billy Hamilton (.250/.292/.355 with 25 doubles, eight triples, six homers, 48 RBI, 72 R, 56 SB) and Kolten Wong (.249/.292/.388 with 14 doubles, 12 homers, 42 RBI, 52 R, 20 SB). With Wong, let's keep in mind this is a regular season award and voting is conducted before the playoffs even start.

DeGrom won the award handily, getting 26 of the 30 first-place votes. Hamilton got the other four and also received 23 second-place votes. Wong had one second-place vote and 11 third-place votes. Ken Giles finished fourth. Full voting breakdown is available via BBWAA by clicking here.