Ballon d'Or 2021 results: Lionel Messi wins record seventh title as PSG finally get an award winner

PARIS -- Paris Saint-Germain and Argentina's Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d'Or for the seventh time in his career which is a new record that now puts him two clear of Cristiano Ronaldo in the all-time standings.

Despite his summer departure from Barcelona, Messi's latest success and his first since 2019 was largely due to his triumph with Argentina at the latest Copa America which finally added an international title to his impressive collection.

"I am really proud to win the France Football Ballon d'Or once again," Messi told PSG of his seventh title. "It is incredible to win it for the seventh time. I would like to thank my family, my friends and all the people who follow me and always support me, because without them I could not have done it"  

Bayern Munich and Poland's Robert Lewandowski came second having seen his biggest chance dashed when COVID-19 canceled the 2020 event in the Germans' prime as they conquered all before them in an incredible clean sweep.

Jorginho came third having won the UEFA Champions League with Chelsea and UEFA Euro 2020 with Italy as Real Madrid and France's Karim Benzema came fourth with a UEFA Nations League title added to his name relatively late in the race.

Messi's latest win with PSG now means that the French giants finally have a Ballon d'Or winner having seen George Weah crowned as an AC Milan player just months after moving to San Siro and the current president of Liberia remains the only native African winner of the award.

"I would like to warmly congratulate Leo," added PSG Chairman and CEO Nasser Al-Khelaifi. "The club is immensely proud that one of our players has won this most prestigious and coveted title. Leo is making football history once again."  

Barcelona's Alexia Putellas received the honors in the women's category while emerging Barca men's starlet Pedri was named Kopa trophy winner with Messi's current PSG teammate Gianluigi Donnarumma taking the Yashin award for best goalkeeper after winning UEFA Euro 2020 with Italy before leaving AC Milan.

"Receiving the Lev Yashin Trophy is a huge honor for me," said the Azzurri shot stopper. "I would like to thank my family and all my teammates who have contributed to the success of this exceptional year. I hope to build on this and continue to shine for PSG and Italy."

Lewandowski was crowned Striker of the Year for his incredible scoring feats while Chelsea took the other new title of Best Club after their Champions League triumph.

Award results

  • Team of the year: Chelsea
  • Striker of the year: Robert Lewandowski
  • Yashin Trophy (best goalkeeper in the world): Gianluigi Donnarumma
  • Kopa Trophy (best player in the world under the age of 21): Pedri
  • Ballon d'Or Féminin (best female player in the world): Alexia Putellas
  • Ballon d'Or (best male player in the world): Lionel Messi
Live updates

Messi wins seventh Ballon d'Or award

Lionel Messi has won his seventh Ballon d'Or over Robert Lewandowski. After finally winning an international trophy with Argentina as they won the Copa America, Messi has been rewarded. Messi was also La Liga's top goal scorer for the eighth time with 30 goals which is also a record. 

Messi also became the most capped player ever for Argentina and the top international goal scorer ever. To reward Lewandowski, a new award was created for the striker of the year which was given to Lewandowski.

While most of the female nominees will be unable to attend the ceremony due to being on international duty, Alexia Putellas is the favorite to win their award. Captaining Barcelona while winning the treble and combining for 30 goals and winning the UEFA Women's Player of the Year Award already will make her hard to topple. The best young player award is more open as Jude Bellingham, Florian Wirtz, and Pedri all have strong cases as they have stepped up to take on more important roles for club and country over the past year. Gianluigi Donnarumma is the favorite for the Yashin trophy after winning player of the tournament during Euro 2020. 

November 29, 2021, 9:17 PM
See New Posts
@francefootball via Twitter
November 29, 2021, 8:59 PM

Club of the year trophy: Chelsea

With both Jorginho and N'Golo Kante coming in the top five Ballon d'Or voting and with the team winning the Champions League title, the women's team winning the treble, Chelsea are deserved winners of this award.

November 29, 2021, 8:52 PM

Yashin Trophy (best goalkeeper):  Gianluigi Donnarumma, PSG

Following his 10th place finish in Ballon d'Or voting, a European Championship and more,  Gianluigi Donnarumma will add another award to his trophy case. An unreal season with AC Milan and winning the best player award at the Euros has led to this deserved award.

November 29, 2021, 8:32 PM

Ballon d'Or Féminin (best female player in the world): Alexia Putellas, Barcelona

Presented by Kylian Mbappe, the award went to the front runner Putellas for her starring role in Barcelona's treble victory. Their club captain, she was involved in 30 goals.

November 29, 2021, 8:20 PM
See More
Watch Now: