Getty Images

The FIFA World Cup draw is set to take place on Friday, even though the full qualification process will not be complete for a few more months. The two inter-confederation playoffs do not take place until June while Path A from UEFA's playoffs cannot be completed yet due to the Russian war in Ukraine -- leaving three gaps in this week's draw. Despite that, already qualified teams will discover their collective fate later this week in Qatar's capital Doha.

How to watch World Cup draw

Date: Friday, April 1 | Time: 11:30 a.m. ET
Location: Doha, Qatar
TV: Telemundo, Fox Sports 1 | Live stream: fuboTV (Try for free)

Format for World Cup draw

Friday's draw will feature 32 teams being split into four pots based on FIFA's most recent world rankings.

Hosts Qatar will be in Pot 1 and automatically take the A1 position and the seven best teams will complete that first pot.

Pot 2 will feature the eight next best team based on the rankings which will also be repeated for Pot 3.

Pot 4 will house the five lowest-ranked sides and the inter-confederation playoff winners as well as the team which emerges from UEFA Path A.

Listen below and follow In Soccer We Trust: A CBS Sports Soccer Podcast where three times a week your three favorite former USMNT players cover everything you could possibly want to know about the beautiful game in the United States.

World Cup draw rules

Teams from the same confederation cannot be drawn in the same group with an exception for UEFA which will have at least one but no more than two teams in each Group.

The same differentiation process could be required depending on the outcome of the inter-confederation ties.

The draw will start with the teams from Pot 1 and end with those based in Pot 4.

List of World Cup pots for teams

Pot 1:

  • Qatar
  • Brazil
  • Belgium
  • France
  • Argentina
  • England
  • Spain
  • Portugal

Pot 2:

  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Uruguay
  • Switzerland
  • United States
  • Croatia

Pot 3:

  • Senegal
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Morocco
  • Serbia
  • Poland
  • South Korea
  • Tunisia

Pot 4:

  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Ecuador
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Ghana
  • Wales or Scotland/Ukraine
  • Costa Rica or New Zealand
  • Peru or Australia/United Arab Emirates

Remaining hopefuls

The following teams remain in with a shout of booking the three remaining places in Qatar come June.

UEFA Path A: Wales vs. Scotland or Ukraine in Cardiff.

AFC vs. CONMEBOL: United Arab Emirates or Australia vs. Peru in Qatar (venue TBD).

CONCACAF vs. OFC: Costa Rica vs. New Zealand in Qatar (venue TBD).

World Cup venues

Qatar will open their World Cup on November 21 at Al Bayt Stadium with the only two other set venues and fixture combinations -- Khalifa International Stadium for the third-place match on December 17 and Lusail Iconic Stadium for the final on December 18.

Due to proximity of venues, group fixture locations and timings will be decided after the draw to ensure stadium and spectator allocations.

However, group stage matches have been allocated the following venues:

Groups A, B, E, and F: Al Bayt Stadium, Khalifa International Stadium, Al Thumama Stadium, and Ahmed bin Ali Stadium.

Groups C, D, G, and H: Lusail Iconic Stadium, Stadium 974, Education City Stadium, and Al Janoub Stadium.


Futures for World Cup winner, courtesy of Caesars Sportsbook:

  • Brazil +550
  • France +600
  • England +700
  • Spain +800
  • Germany +900
  • Argentina +1000
  • Belgium +1200
  • Portugal +1400
  • Netherlands +1600
  • Denmark +2800
  • Croatia +5000
  • Uruguay +5000
  • Poland +6500
  • United States +8000
  • Switzerland +8000
  • Mexico +10000
  • Serbia +10000
  • Senegal +10000
  • Ghana +15000
  • Qatar +15000
  • Wales +15000
  • Ecuador +15000
  • Ukraine +20000
  • Morocco +20000
  • Tunisia +25000
  • Cameroon +25000
  • Canada +25000
  • Scotland +25000
  • Japan +25000
  • Peru +30000
  • Australia +30000
  • South Korea +50000
  • Iran +75000
  • New Zealand +100000
  • Saudi Arabia +100000
  • Costa Rica +150000