LOOK: Officials miss double forward pass by Houston during crazy play vs. Texas Tech
Marquez Stevenson got away with another forward pass after catching the ball himself
Houston got away with a double forward pass when wide receiver Marquez Stevenson took matters into his own hands by throwing to Keith Corbin while trying to reverse field on his own reception. The pass didn't look intended at all, as Stevenson was bottled up quickly by the Texas Tech defense. Still, Corbin raced up the sidelines for a 31-yard gain and gave the Cougars a first down. Three plays later, they scored to tie the game at 35.
This was some risky, but quick thinking by Stevenson. However, it's something the officials should have caught. According to NCAA Rule 7 Section 3 Article 2D, a pass is illegal if "it is the second forward pass during the same down."
The result of the play didn't change the tide of the game, but if things were closer, or if Houston had won, it would have been more noteworthy.
CBS Sports HQ Daily Newsletter
Get the best highlights and stories - yeah, just the good stuff handpicked by our team to start your day.
Thanks for signing up!
Keep an eye on your inbox for the latest sports news.
There was an error processing your subscription.
The Buckeyes barely escaped the clutches of Maryland in overtime Saturday
The rankings remain mostly the same, but there are still some questions that need answerin...
Did your favorite team make it into 2018's fourth official college football rankings top 2...
Barrett Sallee has his finger on the pulse of Oklahoma and West Virginia football
SportsLine's advanced computer model simulated Western Michigan vs. Northern Illinois 10,000...
The Ducks and Cowboys have met on the field only once in history