Clemson's dramatic 35-31 win over Alabama in the 2017 College Football Playoff National Championship was extra special for the Tigers if for no other reason than it's been a while since they could call themselves the kings of college football.

Before Monday, the last time Clemson won a national championship was 1981. The Tigers went 12-0 that season and won the Orange Bowl 22-15 over Nebraska. Clemson was led by coach Danny Ford, who just so happened to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday afternoon.

Surely, coach Dabo Swinney will find himself in Clemson lore with the likes of Ford after his triumphant win over the Crimson Tide. The victory also marks a historic accomplishment for Swinney, who becomes just the second person to have won an Associated Press national title as a player and coach. Swinney was part of Alabama's 1992 national championship-winning team.