Getty Images

Jannik Sinner came back from two sets down to beat Daniil Medvedev 3-6, 3-6, 6-4, 6-4, 6-3 in the Australian Open men's singles final, earning him his first ever Grand Slam title. The 22-year-old became the first Italian man to win the Australian Open since 1976, and he is also the youngest player to win at Melbourne Park since Novak Djokovic in 2008. 

Ironically, Sinner made it to the final after taking down Djokovic in the semifinal round. Djokovic has won a record-breaking 10 Australian Open trophies and was a favorite to win again this year. However, Sinner snapped his 33-match winning streak in Melbourne. 

This was the first Australian Open final since 2005 without Djokovic, Rafael Nadal or Rodger Federer. Nadal was planning on playing this tournament, but had to pull out due to injury.

Medvedev, the 2021 US Open champion, is now 1-5 in Grand Slam finals. 

In the women's competition, Aryna Sabalenka defended her title as the Australian Open champion after taking down Qinwen Zheng 6-3, 6-2 on Saturday. She was dominant through the entire tournament, winning a perfect 14 of 14 sets.

"I love you so much," Sabalenka told the crowd at Rod Laver Arena, who is used to seeing her win. 

She won eight of the first nine points and held onto that control for the rest of the match. Sabalenka has now won 14 consecutive matches in Melbourne. With this victory, Sabalenka will keep her world No. 2 ranking, just behind Iga Swiatek, who congratulated her on the victory. 

The Belarusian star's dominance was impressive but not completely surprising. Sabalenka has proved to be one of the top hard-court players, with 12 of her 14 title wins coming on hard courts, per ESPN. 

Here is all you need to know about the 2024 Australian Open:

How to watch the 2024 Australian Open

  • Dates: Jan. 13-28
  • Where: Melbourne Park, Australia
  • Watch: ESPN, ABC, Tennis Channel
  • Stream: fubo (try for free)

Men's seeding

  1. Novak Djokovic (SRB)
  2. Carlos Alcaraz (ESP)
  3. Daniil Medvedev (N/A)
  4. Jannik Sinner (ITA)
  5. Andrey Rublev (N/A)
  6. Alexander Zverev (GER)
  7. Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)
  8. Holger Rune (DEN)
  9. Hubert Hurkacz (POL)
  10. Alex De Minaur (AUS)
  11. Casper Ruud (NOR)
  12. Taylor Fritz (USA)
  13. Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)
  14. Tommy Paul (USA)
  15. Karen Khachanov (N/A)
  16. Ben Shelton (USA)
  17. Frances Tiafoe (USA)
  18. Nicolas Jarry (CHL)
  19. Cameron Norrie (GBR)
  20. Adrian Mannarino (FRA)
  21. Ugo Humbert (FRA)
  22. Francisco Cerundolo (ARG)
  23. Alejandro Davidovich Fokina (ESP)
  24. Jan-Lennard Struff (GER)
  25. Lorenzo Musetti (ITA)
  26. Sebastian Baez (ARG)
  27. Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN)
  28. Tallon Griekspoor (NLD)
  29. Sebastian Korda (USA)
  30. Tomas Martin Etcheverry (ARG)
  31. Alexander Bublik (KAZ)
  32. Jiri Lehecka (CZE)

Women's seeding

  1. Iga Swiatek (POL)
  2. Aryna Sabalenka (N/A)
  3. Elena Rybakina (KAZ)
  4. Coco Gauff (USA)
  5. Jessica Pegula (USA)
  6. Ons Jabeur (TUN)
  7. Marketa Vondrousova (CZE)
  8. Maria Sakkari (GRE)
  9. Barbora Krejcikova (CZE)
  10. Beatriz Haddad Maia (BRA)
  11. Jelena Ostapenko (LAT)
  12. Qinwen Zheng (CHN)
  13. Liudmila Samsonova (N/A)
  14. Daria Kasatkina (N/A)
  15. Veronika Kudermetova (N/A)
  16. Caroline Garcia (FRA)
  17. Ekaterina Alexandrova (N/A)
  18. Victoria Azarenka (N/A)
  19. Elina Svitolina (UKR)
  20. Magda Linette (POL)
  21. Donna Vekic (HRV)
  22. Sorana Cirstea (ROU)
  23. Anastasia Potapova (N/A)
  24. Anhelina Kalinina (UKR)
  25. Elise Mertens (BEL)
  26. Jasmine Paolini (ITA)
  27. Emma Navarro (USA)
  28. Lesia Tsurenko (UKR)
  29. Zhu Lin (CHN)
  30. Wang Xinyu (CHN)
  31. Marie Bouzkova (CZE)
  32. Leylah Fernandez (CAN)

Men's final:

No. 4 Jannik Sinner def. No. 3 Daniil Medvedev, 3-6, 3-6, 6-4, 6-4, 6-3

Women's final:

No. 2 Aryna Sabalenka def. No. 12 Qinwen Zheng, 6-3, 6-2