McNeese State at UTSA

UTSA 31, McNeese St. 24


SAN ANTONIO (AP) - Texas-San Antonio built a big lead and held off a fourth-quarter rally for a 31-24 victory in the Alamodome on Saturday.

UTSA (6-4) had a 31-10 lead early in the fourth as Eric Soza passed for a pair of touchdowns and Evans Okotcha ran for a score.

But McNeese (6-4) roared back on a 6-yard TD pass from Cody Stroud to Dylan Long with 6:18 left and a 3-yard scoring run by Marcus Wiltz with 3:05 remaining.

Soza completed 24 of 37 passes for 262 yards and a pair of TDs, and was not sacked. Stroud completed 34 of 46 passes for 346 yards and two TDs.

Copyright 2017 by STATS LLC and The Associated Press. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and The Associated Press is strictly prohibited.

Related Video

Scoring Summary
MCNWes Briscoe 12 yd pass from Cody Stroud (Josh Lewis kick)
TXSAEvans Okotcha 23 yd pass from Eric Soza (Kristian Stern kick)
MCNJosh Lewis 36 yd FG
TXSAEric Soza 4 yd run (Kristian Stern kick)
TXSAEvans Okotcha 9 yd run (Kristian Stern kick)
TXSABrandon Armstrong 31 yd pass from Eric Soza (Kristian Stern kick)
TXSAKristian Stern 31 yd FG
MCNDylan Long 6 yd pass from Cody Stroud (Josh Lewis kick)
MCNMarcus Wiltz 3 yd run (Josh Lewis kick)
Team Stats
First Downs2922
Third Down Efficiency6-1212-19
Fourth Down Efficiency0-01-1
Plays-Net Yards72-43969-358
Passing Yds346262
Kick Return Yds10252
Punt Return Yds60
Time of Poss.28:3931:21
Individual Stats
MCN: Marcus Wiltz 12-63, Javaris Murray 5-16, Darius Carey 3-14, Champlain Babin 2-8, Kelvin Bennett 2-5, Cody Stroud 2--13
TXSA: Evans Okotcha 10-50, Kam Jones 4-27, David Glasco 10-11, Eric Soza 4-8, Brandon Armstrong 1-5, Team 1--2, Brian Vaughn 2--3
MCN: Cody Stroud 34-46-346-1
TXSA: Eric Soza 24-37-262-0
MCN: Wes Briscoe 6-99, Diontae Spencer 6-62, Darius Carey 4-50, Champlain Babin 4-21, Damion Dixon 3-28, Marcus Wiltz 2-20, DeVionte Edmonson 2-17, Dylan Long 2-13, Ernest Celestie 2-12, Josh Jordan 1-12, Javaris Murray 1-6, Kendale Thomas 1-6
TXSA: Evans Okotcha 3-37, Josiah Monroe 3-33, Kam Jones 3-31, Marcellus Mack 3-26, Brandon Freeman 2-40, Earon Holmes 2-19, Nate Shaw 2-11, Kenny Harrison 2-4, Brandon Armstrong 1-31, Seth Grubb 1-18, David Glasco 1-6, Cole Hubble 1-6

CBSSports Shop