UTSA at New Mexico

UTSA overcomes deficit, beats New Mexico 21-13

Associated Press

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (AP) Eric Soza's 11-yard touchdown pass to David Glasco II capped a 99-yard, fourth-quarter drive Saturday that helped the UTSA overcome an early 13-0 deficit and sparked the Roadrunners to a 21-13 season-opening win over New Mexico.

It was Glasco's second touchdown on the night for UTSA.

New Mexico opened the scoring four minutes into the first quarter when SaQwan Edwards returned a fumble 45 yards. But New Mexico's attempt at a 2-point conversion failed.

The Lobos added a 37-yard touchdown pass from Cole Gautsche to Marquis Bundy early in the second quarter.

The Roadrunners began their comeback when Glasco bulled in from 1 yard out before halftime.

Soza found a wide-open Brandon Armstrong for a 38-yard touchdown three minutes into the third quarter to give UTSA its first lead 14-13.

Copyright 2017 by STATS LLC. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Related Video

Scoring Summary
NMEXSaQwan Edwards 45 yd fumble return (failed 2pt rush)
NMEXMarquis Bundy 37 yd pass from Cole Gautsche (Justus Adams kick)
TXSADavid Glasco 1 yd run (Sean Ianno kick)
TXSABrandon Armstrong 38 yd pass from Eric Soza (Sean Ianno kick)
TXSADavid Glasco 8 yd pass from Eric Soza (Sean Ianno kick)
Team Stats
First Downs2215
Third Down Efficiency3-102-13
Fourth Down Efficiency0-01-3
Plays-Net Yards67-39459-277
Passing Yds23784
Kick Return Yds038
Punt Return Yds-23
Time of Poss.32:1127:49
Individual Stats
TXSA: Eric Soza 11-48, Kam Jones 4-39, David Glasco 8-32, Aaron Grubb 2-24, Evans Okotcha 6-17, Team 2--3
NMEX: Cole Gautsche 16-118, Kasey Carrier 20-54, Clayton Mitchem 3-8, Jeric Magnant 1-6, Crusoe Gongbay 1-4, Carlos Wiggins 1-3
TXSA: Eric Soza 21-34-237-0
NMEX: Cole Gautsche 4-12-65-0, Clayton Mitchem 2-5-19-0
TXSA: Kam Jones 5-65, Kenny Harrison 3-30, Brandon Armstrong 2-38, Evans Okotcha 2-20, Seth Grubb 2-20, Kenny Bias 2-17, Marcellus Mack 1-15, Josiah Monroe 1-10, Earon Holmes 1-9, David Glasco 1-8, Cole Hubble 1-5
NMEX: Marquis Bundy 3-53, Andrew Aho 1-18, Carlos Wiggins 1-11, Chase Clayton 1-2
UTSA2nd Conference USA West5-36-7
New Mexico1st Mountain West Mountain6-29-4

CBSSports Shop